wgwg


Title: Will Grayson, Will Grayson

Author/s: John Green & David Levithan

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Publisher: The Text Publishing Company

Pages: 310

Synopsis:

Will Grayson:
What if your oldest, wildest, only best friend started writing a musical about your life… and it made you look like a joke?

What if the girl you didn’t think you were interested in started being interested in you?

And who is this other guy called Will Grayson?

The other Will Grayson:
What if you are technically depressed? What if you’re in love with someone you’ve never met?

And what’s the story with the guy walking around with your name?

Spoiler-Free Review:

I mean, Jesus, who even gives a fuck about sex?! People act like it’s the most important thing humans do, but come on. How can our sentient fucking lives revolve around something slugs can do. I mean, who you want to screw and whether you screw them? Those are important questions, I guess. But they’re not that important. You know what’s important? Who would you die for? Who do you wake up at five forty-five in the morning for even though you don’t even know why he needs you? Whose drunken nose would you pick?!”

This infamous quote; I had always wondered where it had come from because I mean it’s so true and I really love it. Of course, John Green’s novels always have fabulous quotes in them, because he’s a fabulous author, so what else would you expect?

I had been meaning to read this book for a fairly long time, and I’m glad I finally got around to it. This was the first David Levithan story I read, and the only John Green book that I hadn’t read. Firstly, it was such a quick and easy read. I started it and only got a couple of chapters in, and then didn’t have much time until a few days later. I basically read the book in one day, and didn’t spend much time doing anything else.

The way the story is written was slightly confusing at first, as the first chapter will be from one Will Grayson’s point of view, and the next the other, although the only way you can tell this is that one is written normally, and the other is written fully in lowercase letters. Not only was this a strange and unique way to identify who is who, but the dialogue in the story was also very different. Some of it was the usual he said this and she said that, but a lot of it was told like this:

Me: hello
John Green: hi omg i love you
Me: stahp it omg you’re making me blush
John: but i love you can we write a story together
Me: um yes wtf of course why didn’t you say that in the first place
(This conversation totally happened by the way)

It obviously made reading it a lot easier and quicker, which is probably why I read it so quickly.

I can say that, though it’s not a bad thing at all, but I was definitely not expecting it to be the kind of story it was. That being said I didn’t really go into the story knowing a whole lot about it, which I think made it just that little bit more enjoyable since you don’t have any idea what’s going on or going to happen.

Overall, it was an enjoyable read, though not my favourite book ever, I still found the characters fun and their stories entertaining.

My Rating:

4stars


danielle

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

