lola

 

lola-boy-next-door

Title: Lola and the Boy Next Door

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Publisher: SPEAK by Penguin

Pages: 338

Synopsis:
Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion… she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit – the more sparkly, more wild – the better. And life is pretty close to perfect for Lola, especially with her hot rocker boyfriend.

That is, until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket return to the neighbourhood and unearth a past of hurt that Lola thought was long buried. So when talented inventor Cricket steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally face up to a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door. Could the boy from Lola’s past be the love of her future?

My Review:

Let me start off by saying that I loved how unique and original the characters in this story were. Literally, I have never ever read a book with such a main character like Lola Nolan. Obviously, I’m not going to spoil anything, but she was quite interesting to follow along with. I loved how she didn’t care about what people thought of her, and she dressed however she wanted and still made it work. She was out-going in appearance, but somehow not so much with her personality, but I don’t know, it still seemed to work.

Cricket Bell was also a quirky character, but no less was he adorable. I loved how different he was compared to normal teenage boys, how passionate and loving he was, how selfless he was. He was a beautiful character to read about, which it seems Stephanie Perkins’ books are full of.

I don’t really know why, but I liked Anna and the French Kiss more than this book. Whether it was because Lola was so different to me that I couldn’t really relate to her, whereas Anna was more relatable, or if I just enjoyed Anna’s story more (it may have had something to do with my love for Etienne St. Clair…. *swoons*). This doesn’t at all mean I disliked Lola. It was a fun, easy read and I found it very enjoyable. And I don’t want to compare the two stories because they’re so different, but Anna definitely had more swoon-worthy moments in it!

I’m looking forward to seeing how the series (if you can even call it a series? I feel like it’s more like three companion novels or something) ends with Isla, and definitely looking forward to seeing more of Anna and Etienne, and Lola and Cricket!

My Rating:

4stars


danielle

4 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

