2015

Firstly, MERRY CHRISTMASSSS!!! I hope you all have a wonderful day with family and friends and get lots of presents (hopefully so good books) 🙂

Now, moving on to my favourite reads of 2015. I want to start off by saying that I am really happy with the number of books I read this year. I set my goal of 50 books at the beginning of the year, but as the year went on I didn’t think I’d be able to complete it. I did, and I’m quite proud of myself. I know to some people 50 books isn’t such a big number, but it was for me and I’m glad I got them read.

It was hard to narrow down my top ten reads because I read a lot of great books this year, but here goes….

10. The Selection (first three books) – Kiera Cass

selection-series

I can’t say the whole series is a favourite because I have only read the first three, which I guess you could say is technically its own series since The Heir and The Crown are about a different character. These books definitely surprised me; like I’d heard mixed reviews and wasn’t really expecting great things, but I loved them! I can’t wait to continue reading the rest of the series!

9. The Study Series – Maria V. Snyder

studycovers

Another series that surprised me! This series does not nearly get enough recognition or love because it definitely deserves it. These books were magical, and I got completely wrapped up in the story. I loved the world and the characters and it was so fast-paced and fun! Such a great high-fantasy read!

8. The Bloodlines Series – Richelle Mead

bookcoverbloodlinesseries

Ah, Bloodlines. It felt so good to return to the Vampire Academy world, even though you don’t really get to see Rose, Lissa or Dimitri much. It started off a little slow, but by the third book I was hooked. They were so quick and easy to read, and I loved all the twists and turns that were thrown at me throughout it all. Also, Adrian is beautiful and is bae *heart eyes*.

7. Forbidden – Tabitha Suzuma

cvr9781442419964_9781442419964_hr

I put reading this book off for so long, but I told myself I just had to suck it up and read it because it’s only a book and it’s not going to eat you. This book left my heart shattered. I wanted to believe there would be a happy ending, and I wanted to believe that everything would be okay, but this story was tragic and sad and all things heartbreaking.

6. Hopeless + Losing Hope – Colleen Hoover

hh

I added both of these because they are the same story but just told from different perspectives. They are both just as amazing as each other, and I think I actually enjoyed Losing Hope more even though I already knew what was going to happen…I had only read Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover before these two books, so I hadn’t quite yet realised that Colleen likes to RIP YOUR HEART OUT AND STAMP ALL OVER IT AND THEN BURN IT AND SHOVE IT BACK THROUGH YOUR THROAT AND INTO YOUR CHEST. (Also, this is the beginning of the Colleen Hoover books in this top ten, I just thought I should warn you…)

5. Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins

anna_and_the_french_kiss

Ah yes, down to the top five. Or is it up to the top five? Anyway, you knew it was coming I’m sure. Well if you saw my review you had to know it was going to show up here. This book was just TOO. DAMN. CUTE. Like it was just so adorable my gosh. + Etienne St. Clair was definitely one of the main reasons I loved this book so much *swoons*.

4. The Mara Dyer Trilogy – Michelle Hodkin

screen2bshot2b2014-11-162bat2b3-39-532bpm

God, these books. What a goddamn crazy rollercoaster of emotions. Like just wow, these books were crazy and unlike anything I’ve read before. + Noah Freakin’ Shaw. Like god what a beautiful boy. Like he literally jumped right up the top of my extremely long fictional boyfriend list  before the first book was even finished *swoons again*.

3. The Harry Potter Series – J.K Rowling

picture12

Let’s be real here, I could not do a top ten and NOT put this series in it! I mean, it’s Harry Potter?! I read it for the first time this year and it did not disappoint. Do I even need to say anymore?????

2. Ugly Love – Colleen Hoover

9781476753188_hr

Wow, number two. I didn’t think this amazing book would get pushed down from the number one spot, but it did. I read this book in under ten hours, which clearly speaks for itself. I couldn’t even put it down it was so addictive. Like I just needed to know what would happen and I couldn’t stop reading until I found out. Boy, was it a goddamn emotional ride. So heartbreaking, so beautiful, so good.

1. November 9 – Colleen Hoover

25111004

I honestly thought that nothing was going to top Ugly Love. NOTHING! I didn’t think it would be at all possible for me to choose a favourite over Ugly Love, but this book proved me wrong. This book was so goddamn good I can’t even begin to talk about it because I probably won’t stop. Like I literally only read it this month, and it was just so good. I read it in a day, like all of Colleen’s books so far, because it was just so quick and easy to read. Her books are so addictive and you just want to devour them in one sitting, which sucks when you start the book at night and it’s three o’clock in the morning and you still have half the book to go but you don’t want to stop reading…
This book was amazing. Please if you haven’t read ANY of Colleen’s books you have to go pick one up now (like you could choose any really they are all fab [ I haven’t even read them all but so far they have all been fab and I can only imagine that the rest will be fab as well] but obviously November 9 and Ugly Love are my favourites) and read it and then you’ll want to pick up another and another. I did not mean for short review to turn into a long review but the point it I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!

Honourable mentions go to The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout, P.S I Still Love You by Jenny Han, Finding Cinderella by Colleen Hoover, Penryn and the End of Days series by Susan Ee, and the Under the Never Sky trilogy by Veronica Rossi.

(Also, I am not at all sorry for the amount of Colleen Hoover in my top ten okay her books deserve to be there, they are all amazing.)

 


 

 

So there you have it! My top ten reads for 2015! Let me know what your favourite read/s of the year were!
I hope you all had a fabulous year of reading, and an even more fabulous Christmas and New Year! Party hard, but stay safe. I look forward to another year of great books and heartbreaking reads 🙂 ❤

danielle

4 thoughts on “

  1. Merry Christmas, Dani! I really want to read The Study series along with the Colleen Hoover books! I’ve only ever read Maybe Someday, but I surprisingly loved it, considering I dont read a lot of romance novels.

    Like

Leave a Reply

