unpopular

I’ve seen many BookTuber’s do this tag, and I’ve always wanted to do it! So since I don’t have BookTube I figured it would still be fun to do it on my blog! I want to first say that I don’t mean to offend anyone or anything, I’m just stating my own opinion and if it’s different than yours please at least respect what I have to say πŸ™‚

You can also watch the original creator’s video here.

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like:

aristotle-and-dante-discover-the-secrets-of-the-9781442408937_hr
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – Benjamin Alire SΓ‘enz
Now, I haven’t really talked much about my feelings towards this book on my blog, but I talked a little about it on my Instagram hereΒ if you’re interested in a little more of my thoughts. But to keep it short, I just didn’t really feel anything for the story or the characters, and just didn’t connect the way I probably should have.

 

 

15745753
Eleanor & Park – Rainbow Rowell
I read Fangirl before this book, and I absolutely loved it, but this book just didn’t do it for me. I didn’t hate it, but I expected such great things from all the praise it has gotten and was pretty disappointed when I finished it.

 

 

 

 

2. A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.

51lleajagql-_sy344_bo1204203200_
The Mortal Instruments – Cassandra Clare
Okay, I know a lot of people love this series, and I’m one of them. But I feel like a lot of people dislike it as well, especially City of Bones. This series will always have a special place in my heart and I’ll always love it since itΒ made me fall in love with reading.

 

 

 

 

3. A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn people for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

clockwork-princess-official-book-cover-cassandra-clare-31431560-1266-1920
The Infernal Devices – Cassandra Clare
(Okay if you haven’t read this series, firstly what are you doing with your life go and read it right now, and secondly, I’m going to spoil, like majorly, so look away.)

If you’ve read this series you’re probably wondering what I mean, since Tessa ends up with both boys in the end. But as much as I love Jem, I just wish Will lived forever so that they could be together forever. I’m selfish and I love Will so much I just want him to be with her all the time, sorry Jem…

 

 

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

Historical fiction.
I feel like, more recently, historical fiction has become extremely popular and I just haven’t really gotten into it. It’s not a very common genre on my bookshelves, but I’m hoping to get into it a little more this year.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

harry20potter20and20the20philosophers20stone20202
Professor Snape (Harry Potter – J.K Rowling)
I know Snape is a very controversial character, and you either love him or you hate him, and I just couldn’t love him. I know he was brave and I did feel sorry for him at times, but the way he treated Harry was awful and I don’t think it should be excused.

 

 

 

 

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

I really can’t think of an author for this question, especially since a lot of authors I’ve read, I’ve only read one or two of their books. So I’m just going to skip this question, and maybe in the future I can come back to this tag and an author will come to mind when I see this question!

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

The only one I can really think of that really annoys me is the whole ‘oh I’m a girl who needs a man to save me’ thing *cringes*

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Oh god okay this is where people are gonna hate me….

twilightbook
Twilight – Stephanie Meyer
I started reading a couple of years after the ‘Twilight Craze’ and now I literally have no interest in starting the series.

 

 

 

 

 

a-game-of-thrones
Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire) – George R.R. Martin
These books intimidate the hell out of me, so I’d much rather watch the television series, than read these huge books.

 

 

 

 

 

thelightningthief__span
Percy Jackson – Rick Riordan
Okay, I’m still not 100% sure about this series. I know everyone loves it, but I just don’t really have any interest in starting a middle-grade series right now, or any time in the near future. I may change my mind, but for now, I’m just not interested in you, Percy.

 

 

 

 

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

 

hungergames1

 

The Hunger Games trilogy – Suzanne Collins
I read this series like 5 years ago now, so I’ll be honest, I can’t remember a lot from the books. But the movies were absolutely amazing, especially the Mockingjay installments, seeing as that book was pretty… Meh.

 

 

 

 

 


 

So there you have it! Some of my unpopular bookish opinions! Do you agree with any of my opinions? What are some of your unpopular opinions on popular books?

danielle

2 thoughts on “

  1. Broke my heart when you mentioned you didn’t enjoyed Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe ;A; but, we all have our opinions so I totally respect that πŸ˜‰

    And I totally agree with you on some of these, especially number 9!

    Like

Leave a Reply

