atbp

 

jennifer_niven_all_the_bright_places_cover

 

Title: All The Bright Places

Author: Jennifer Niven

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Publisher: Penguin

Pages: 388

Synopsis:

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

My Review:

I really wanted to love this book, and gosh I thought I would. So many people fell in love with this book and I really thought I would be one of them as well, but unfortunately, I didn’t fall in love.

This book had been sitting on my bookshelf for about a year, just waiting to be read. I don’t know why I didn’t pick it up straight away, seeing as everybody was raving about it as soon as it was released. What made me pick it up now, a year later? Honestly, all of the crap that’s being surrounding this book and Jennifer’s new book that isn’t even released until October are what made me want to read this book. And in saying that, it also made me want to love the book as well, but that didn’t happen.

I didn’t hate the book, I still enjoyed reading it, but I just don’t think it was the book for me. The characters for me just weren’t relatable and I couldn’t connect with either of them. I really thought I would, at least, connect with Violet, seeing as she’s a writer, but I still couldn’t find anything to relate to. I’m not sure if it was because of what the two characters were going through or if it was just them as a whole; I just couldn’t connect or relate or just fully understand what they were feeling and experiencing. Maybe it was because I’ve never, thankfully, had to deal with a mental illness myself, so maybe that’s why I couldn’t relate to them.

I did find their relationship to be really cute and fun, and as I said at the beginning I still enjoyed the story. After I finished reading, however, I was so emotionally and physically drained. I felt tired, heavy and just really under the weather. This book definitely took it’s toll on me, which was definitely not what I was expecting since I didn’t enjoy the book as much as I thought I would/as much as I wanted to.

I’m so disappointed that I didn’t love it, I really am. I was expecting such great things with this book, but it really just fell flat with me. I’m still going to read Jennifer’s next book, Holding Up the Universe, once it’s released, because I’m intrigued and I want to make my own mind up on the book before giving it a poor rating and abusing the crap out of it like so many people have already done (see my review/rant on the matter if you’re interested).

My Rating:

3stars


 

Did you love this book? Hate it? Or maybe you’re like me and fit somewhere in the middle? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Until next time,
danielle

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

