writing1

Hello and welcome to a segment on my blog I like to call “If I create some kind of schedule for my writing maybe I’ll actually effing write something”.

If you didn’t know already, I love to write. I’ve been writing for a while but if you want a more in-depth story on my writing you can check that out in my lil writing tab up the top there. So, I’m currently in the process of editing the absolute crap out of my first draft of The Timekeeper, and I thought it would be interesting and kind of fun to document how I’m going and where I’m at on my blog!

When I started this blog, I had the idea that I didn’t just want it to be all about books, but my life in general as well. So far, it’s literally just book-related posts, I know, but it’ll get there…. And like, I’m not saying I don’t enjoy blogging about books, because I do, but I want to expand my blog into something more personal as well.

Anyway, let’s start with my somewhat bizarre New-Years resolution to try and edit my story at least once a week. This could be a few words or five paragraphs, but as long as I edited something each week I would be happy. I originally told myself I would attempt to edit one chapter a week, but I gave up on that idea basically within the first week of 2016. I’ll be honest and say that I have not edited once a week. I have barely edited once a month. As you can see I’m off to a brilliant start. One of my goals for this year is to finish editing The Timekeeper, but so far I’m not doing so well with that.

It’s not like I’ve been extremely busy because I’ve been on uni holidays since November and have had plenty of time to work on my story, but I just haven’t. I will tell myself almost every day to get my shit together and edit my story, but I always find something else to do instead. Editing is hard, okay? Like it’s not so much the actual editing, but just looking back on your work. I can’t help but cringe at some of my writing, and it makes it a lot harder to edit if I don’t like what I’m reading….

So basically, I’m a lazy, procrastinating piece of poop that will literally sit around doing nothing instead of editing.

I have decided that I will try and set a goal, so hopefully I can stick to it. I start my second year of uni in a couple of weeks so I need to at least get chapter one edited. Once uni starts, I know I’m going to push editing even further down my list of things I need to do, but I am going to really try and make myself edit once a week like I planned to do at the beginning of the year.Even if I’m taking an hour out of my day, or week, each week, and dedicating it to editing, I will be content.

So, to summarise:

  • I’m a piece of poop
  • I’m going to (well, try to) edit once a week, at the least.

Hopefully the next time I do this I’ll have done more editing and can talk about the process of it a little more, and hopefully people actually find that interesting…


I think that’s really all I wanted to talk about in this update, and probably all I really can talk about. I’m going to attempt to edit right now while I’m in the right mindset (I think, or I’ll just end up watching Shadowhunters), so we shall see how far I get..

Any writers out there that have some tips for getting through the editing process?
Help a sister out please!

Until next time,
danielle

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

