illuminae

51vpagsvayl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

Title: Illuminae (Book One in The Illuminae Files)

Author: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Genre: Sci-Fi, Young Adult

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

Pages: 599

Synopsis:

One moment, Kady Grant and Ezra Mason have nothing bigger to worry about than each other. Specifically, avoiding each other in the wake of their messy break-up. In the next second, their entire world falls apart.

The year is 2375 and one of the mega-corporations that control much of deep space has just fired the opening salvo in an intergalactic war, destroying Kady and Ezra’s planet. Forced to flee on a small fleet of crippled rescue ships alongside thousands of other refugees, the fear of enemy warships chasing them down is at first all-consuming but soon becomes the least of their worries. A deadly plague is ravaging the refugees on the ships; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be an enemy; and High Command is refusing to acknowledge that there may be a serious problem. As Kady plunges into a tangled web of data in search of the truth, she realises that Ezra is possibly the only person who can help her save the refugees before it’s too late.

My Review:

Going into this book I was a little hesitant. The last few books I had read were praised a lot and had been extremely hyped up, and unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy them much. This book is has been extremely hyped up, and so I wasn’t sure if it was going to meet my high expectations, but it definitely did.

This book surprised me so much. I thought it would take me forever to get through, seeing as it is almost 600 pages long, but due to the unique formatting, I flew through it in no time at all. I haven’t read much sci-fi, but wow this book was out of this world (ha, see what I did there? Did you see it? Did you?)! I absolutely loved this book and the plot and the characters, and especially the unique format the story is told in. If you don’t know, which I’m sure more of you probably do, this novel is told through computer files, data reports, computer messages, and so on. It’s told unlike any story you have read before, I guarantee it! It was a little difficult to read at first, and it definitely took a little while to get used to, but I think it made the novel so much more enjoyable!

The character’s were also super fun to follow. I absolutely loved the main character, Kady, she was so sassy and badass and smart and it was just so much fun to follow her journey. Ezra was also amazing and sassy; I just really loved both character’s. The plot was amazing and there were some twists that I definitely did not see coming, which made me love the book so much more. I am super excited to read the next book, Gemina when it comes out at the end of the year!

I would definitely recommend this book. Even if you aren’t really into science fiction or you just haven’t gotten into it yet, it’s super easy to read and it’s very addictive as well! I am super excited to read the next book, Gemina when it comes out at the end of the year!

My Rating:

5stars


 

That’s most of my thoughts on Illuminae! (I was supposed to do a review weeks ago oops.) Have any of you read this book? Did you love it as much as everybody else seems to?

Until next time,
danielle

11 thoughts on “

  1. This had been on my TBR way to long! Great review I love sci fy but I need to be in the mood for it so I haven’t grabbed this one yet BUT it will be by next sci fy read when ever I get around to it 🙂 hahaha
    Great review! 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve had this on my TBR since Christmas and I really want to finally get to it. I am very intrigued by the formatting and everyone seems to love this book, so I don’t know why I haven’t started it yet! Lovely review, I’m glad the book could live up to your high expectations! 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you enjoyed this one! I feel the same way 🙂 The characters were amazing and this book is so different to what I normally encounter – within the Sci-fi genre and out. (And yes I did see what you did there 😉 )

    I was nervous, especially at the beginning about not understanding all the scientific stuff like you said, but this book is really easy to get through!

    By the way, have you seen the GEMINA cover? LOVEEEEE. It’s so pretty, I can’t wait for it to come out! Anyway, great review!

    Like

  4. I was a little bit hesitant reading this too because of all the hype. 😂 But then it surprised the hell out of me! It was unexpected and it was really really good! Especially how the book end.

    Like

  5. Great review, I absolutely loved this book as well and gave it a full five starts too! I definitely agree with you on the it’s completely addictive part, I cannot wait for Gemina! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

