lady-midnight

Welcome to the hundredth episode of
“Cassandra Clare is evil and loves to break my heart”,
starring me.

lm_cover

 

Title: Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Pages: 669

Synopsis:

It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…

Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. 

But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognise his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

My review:

Oh my god. This goddamn book. Like honestly you’d think after read so many Cassandra Clare books that I would be used to the way she writes and makes you fall in love with her characters almost instantly before she breaks your heart a million times, but I’m not and I probably never will be. She has runed me (gosh I am loving the puns in these book reviews lately aren’t I?).

I want to start off by saying that you need, like honestly NEED, to read The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices before you read this book. Ideally, you should also read Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy as well because Lady Midnight has some spoilers referring to it. But just make sure you at least read TMI and TID before hand, just do it okay you will not regret it both series are so goddamn amazing and fun and you’ll love them I promise. If you don’t read them before you read Lady Midnight, honestly there are characters you won’t know about and they reference things you just won’t understand unless you read her other series. So, just go and read them okay? You’ll thank me later.

Moving on to the actual book, I just-wow. It was so good to jump back into the Shadowhunter world and see characters from her other two series that we all know and love, and it was so good to meet these new characters as well. This book was absolutely amazing and was definitely worth the two year wait (even though it would’ve been nice to have it earlier but you know…). I fell in love with the characters almost instantly and was not surprised that when I finished reading it my heart was drowning in hurt.

Cassandra Clare is the master of making you feel every emotion possible. Her writing is beautiful and her characters are beautiful and entertaining and her story line is always so full of action and drama and surprises I just love her books so goddamn much.

Emma Carstairs is so sassy and badass I honestly think I already love her more than Clary, she’s just so different and fun to read. Julian Blackthorn, my gosh what a precious little soul. My heart broke for him and his family but God he is so beautiful and caring and selfless, I can’t deal with him I just can’t I love him. And just the rest of the Blackthorns and Cristina and honestly I love every character already. I just love them all so much okay this series is honestly going to kill me I know it.

So basically, to put it short, this book was so unbelievably amazing and it made me feel all the feels and it’s exactly what you want from a Cassandra Clare novel. It also put me in a pretty bad reading slump and I’m struggling to read anything I pick up right now.

I am so excited for the next book, Lord of Shadows, but I’m also so scared because I’m already extremely attached to these beautiful characters and I will die if anything bad happens to them, okay Cassie????

My rating: 

5stars


 

Have you read Lady Midnight yet? Did you love it??? Are you excited for the second book? And The Last Hours trilogy as well????? (I could read Cassie’s books forever like she could keep writing more series and I would without a doubt buy them and read them and cry)

Until next time,
danielle

4 thoughts on “

  1. I haven’t read Lady Midnight yet but I’ve read all of her other books! She’s my favourite author ever 🙂

    Like

  2. This review was SPOT ON with how I felt. Seriously, you said all that needed to be said. I LOVED THE CHARACTERS SO MUCH. Especially Mark and Ty. I cannot wait to see what Cassie does with them next. Let’s be real though, there will be so much pain. I have no doubt about that. I’m not even a huge fan of the Shadowhunter world/books but this book was stunning in all aspects.

    Wonderful review, Dani! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

