read-next

Ever finish a great book and you kind of just stare at your bookshelves for 20 hours trying to decide what you want to read next??? Well, have no fear friends, I am here to (hopefully) give you some handy tips on how to choose what book to read next!

My good friend, Batool over at koffeebook on Instagram (and now she also has a blog which you can find here and which I highly recommend following because her blog is beautiful and also follow her Instagram because her account is literally goals guys) gave me the idea to do this post, so props to her for the suggestion (ily babby)!

Firstly, it depends on the type of book I just finished reading. So, what the genre is, whether it’s a series or a stand-alone, etc. But not only that, it will also depend on if I enjoyed the book or not, how much I enjoyed the book as well as how it made me feel when I finished it. Once you take all those into account, here’s some little tips (if that’s the right word I don’t know) for how I decide on what to read next:

  • If I finish a series, no matter how long it is, I will pick up a stand-alone afterwards, and vice versa. If it’s a really heavy series or even a really heavy book- and I don’t mean it weighs a lot but if the book or series has a lot of thinking involved and gives your brain a bit of a work out, you know, that kind of heavy- then stand alones, especially cute contemporaries are the best choice afterwards. You want to go for something that you’ll get through super quickly and that doesn’t involve too much thought, which makes a fun contemporary the perfect book to pick up after a series or heavy book.
  • If I finish a book that I disliked, I’ll usually pick up a book that I know I’ll love. But how do you know you’ll love it if you haven’t read it???? This is where you pick books from your favourite author, or just an author you really enjoy reading from. But if said author doesn’t have any other books that you haven’t read, well that’s when you reread. Rereading is a wonderful thing that most of us with ever-growing tbr’s forget about or just can’t find the time for, but it’s always good (and sometimes painful) to revisit a story that you love.
  • Now, if I finish a book I love, it gets a little tricky. See, if the book affects me emotionally and I sit there after finishing it and don’t know what to do with myself *cough* Lady Midnight *cough*, then I usually take a few days to recover before I can pick up a book again. When I do recover, again, I’ll grab a cute, quick contemporary to (hopefully) get me out of my slump. I find that new adult novels (especially ones written by Colleen Hoover) are pretty great at getting you out of that awful slump.
  • If I’ve just finished a stand-alone and am ready to jump back into a series, I usually pick up a series that I’ve been wanting to read for ages. I own a lot of unread series, so choosing one can get a little difficult, but that’s when you kind of just pick any random series and go from there!

I think that’s all the tips I have on deciding which book to read next, but they seem to work for me pretty well most of the time!!! That is until I get into a really bad reading slump and don’t want to read anything, but you just gotta give yourself time when it comes to those kind of slumps.

 


 

I hope some of these help you out, but if not, well……

Do have similar ways of deciding on what book to read? Or do you have your own ways of choosing your next read?

Until next time,
danielle

2 thoughts on “

  1. I never know what books to read because there are just too many to choose from. But I definitely don’t like jumping from one fantasy series to the next, which is why I usually try to change up the genre and as you said try to read a standalone between series. Rereading is also one of my favorite things to do and always the best method to get me out of a slump or a book hangover. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

