disappointing

Before I get into this post I want to do a little disclaimer and say that I’m not trying to offend anyone by this post. If a book that you really love is in here please don’t jump down my throat for saying I didn’t like it, but just respect my opinions as I would respect yours.

Now, some of these books I didn’t like, some of these books I think are overhyped, and others I just didn’t really connect with the story. I don’t hate any of these books, though a couple did frustrate me a hell of a lot. And okay let’s be real, there’s a lot of books on here that everybody loves, so try not to be too shocked at what books are in this post.

With all that being said, here are a few books that disappointed me…

 

Eleanor and Park – Rainbow Rowell

15745753

 

I know, I know, but before you hate me, I didn’t actually dislike this book. I still enjoyed reading it, but I found it was a little underwhelming for me. I read and loved Rainbow’s other book, Fangirl, but this one didn’t really do anything for me.

 

 


The Bronze Horseman – Paullina Simons

51ku3i-qvkl-_sx325_bo1204203200_

 

Again, don’t hate me and please put those pitchforks down. This is probably the book that I dislike the most, and the more that I think about it the more I dislike it. I can’t even begin to describe my thoughts on this book or else we will be here forever. You can check out my review for this book here if you want to know my full thoughts.

 

 

All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

jennifer_niven_all_the_bright_places_cover

 

I really wanted to love this book, but unfortunately, I didn’t. Again, I don’t think it was a bad book, I just didn’t really connect to the characters or what they were going through. Again, if you want to know more on my thoughts on the story, you can check out my review here.

 

 


The Truth About Forever – Sarah Dessen

2967050-_uy200_

 

Like Eleanor and Park, I didn’t dislike this book, I just had high expectations and it didn’t quite reach those expectations. One of my friends had been recommending this book to me forever because it is one of her all-time favourites, but I just didn’t find as amazing as she did.

 

 

Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte

wuthering-heights_ccvr

 

This was one of the first classics I ever read in my own time. I tend to only read classics for school and usually dislike them because I find the writing too hard to read and follow and it just doesn’t sink in for me. This was one of those classics. It just didn’t do anything for me. I didn’t like the characters and the story didn’t feel like it went anywhere, and I just didn’t enjoy it.

 

 

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – Benjamin Alire Saenz

aristotle-and-dante-discover-the-secrets-of-the-9781442408937_hr

 

I honestly think I’m probably the only person on earth that didn’t like this book. I wanted to like it so much, I really did. I went into it with such high expectations, I literally thought it would become a favourite just from all the hype. But unfortunately, I was really disappointed. Yes, it was written beautifully and it ended really nicely but I just couldn’t connect to the characters. Not only that but Ari really annoyed me at times as well.

 

The Delirium Trilogy – Lauren Oliver

bookcover_home_delirium

Okay, I actually really enjoyed the first two books in this series. And honestly, I enjoyed most of the last book as well until I reached the end of the book and was super annoyed because my book was missing like 100 pages. Well, I thought it was missing 100 pages, and surely it had to have been missing 100 pages because it couldn’t be finished. But no, my copy of Requiem wasn’t faulty, it was really finished. But how could you finish a book with so many loose ends? I HAD SO MANY UNANSWERED QUESTIONS GODDAMN IT WHY WOULD YOU DO THIS TO ME!!!!

 

 


There you have it, a few books that I know people love, that I really didn’t.
What are some books that disappointed you?

Until next time,danielle

6 thoughts on “

  1. I’ve read several of these books and I really liked them. Recently I’ve read Truthwitch and that was a big disappointment for me. I think it was overhyped too much for me. Nice post!!!

    Like

  2. I agree with the Bronze Horseman! I wanted to like it so very badly but I simply couldn’t, and after a few attempts, I had to give it a rest and DNF the book. Some of Sarah Dessen’s books turned out to be a disappointment for me. Don’t get me wrong, she writes well and the stories is great and interesting – but I usually don’t find myself getting too invested into the story. I don’t know, maybe I should give another one of her books another try?

    Like

  3. Honest post Dani! I definitely think it’s important to be honest about how we feel. I agree with Aristotle although I loved Wuthering Heights. I read it with a group so I think the discussion lended to helping me better understand
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

