summer-skin

26211610


Title:
Summer Skin

Author: Kirsty Eagar

Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

Pages: 352

Synopsis:
Jess Gordon is out for revenge. Last year the jocks from Knights College tried to shame her best friend. This year she and a hand-picked college girl gang are going to get even.

The lesson: don’t mess with Unity girls.

The target: Blondie, a typical Knights stud, arrogant, cold . . . and smart enough to keep up with Jess.

A neo-riot grrl with a penchant for fanning the flames meets a rugby-playing sexist pig – sworn enemies or two people who happen to find each other when they’re at their most vulnerable?

It’s all Girl meets Boy, Girl steals from Boy, seduces Boy, ties Boy to a chair and burns Boy’s stuff. Just your typical love story.

My Review:

Lately, I’ve become pretty obsessed with the New Adult genre (like it’s one of my favourite genres at the moment) and I can blame that on Colleen Hoover. I find that because I am a new adult I can relate to quite a lot of the issues and struggles that are found in New Adult novels. So, when I saw this beautiful cover, saw it was signed, realised it was written by an Australian author and is set in Australia, I just couldn’t resist.

This is the first book that I’ve read as a hobby that is set in Australia. At first, the Australian slang and terminology threw me off a little. Yes, I say some of the words almost every day, but it was just so strange to be reading them. I have become so used to American and English terminology that it took a little to get used to the writing, but after a while it made the book so much more relatable and enjoyable, and I became hooked.

I literally could not put this book down, even when it was one in the morning and I had to work at seven, I couldn’t stop reading. It was such a fun, sexy, and amazing story that I just wanted to keep reading and reading and reading, and even my thoughts would constantly divert to the book. It was really easy to read, and very fast paced as well, which seems to be a common thing in New Adult novels, at least the ones I’ve read, anyway. I found the setting really relatable since it’s mostly set at an Australian University in a dormitory, which is how I lived last year for Uni.

The main character, Jess, was so much fun! She was full of sass and I absolutely loved that she didn’t let people push her around. It was so refreshing to read a book with such a strong female character and I loved that her focus wasn’t on finding a boy, either. Mitch, the main male protagonist, was a fun and sassy bad boy, which is basically my weakness in novels.

The only thing I found mildly annoying was that the two main characters would argue a lot and then just make up without really fixing the problems that had caused the argument. It wasn’t a big thing, and it didn’t bother me much at all, but it did annoy me slightly.

Overall, this book was exactly what I needed to get me out of ‘post-Lady Midnight depression’. It was quick and easy to read and I absolutely loved it. I highly recommend it if you’re looking for a New Adult novel, especially if you’re an Australian reader, but you don’t have to be Australian to read it!


My Rating:

4.5/5 stars

4stars


Have you read this book? If so, what were your thoughts?

Until next time, danielle

4 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

