fav-contemps

Contemporaries are my go to when I’ve just finished a fantasy series or a book that’s really put me into a slump *cough* Lady Midnight *cough*.  However upon writing this post I realised that I really haven’t read all that many contemporaries, and that I really need to read some more. With that being said, I still have quite a few favourites that I thought I’d share!

There isn’t really an order to these favourites, I love them all and I highly recommend reading any/all of them.

So, let’s just jump into it, shall we?


November 9 (plus every other book she’s written) – Colleen Hoover (New Adult)

25111004

If you didn’t know already, then you must be new here or have been hiding under a rock for the past year, I absolutely love Colleen Hoover’s books. This one, in particular, is my favourite, but I am not joking when I say that every single book of her’s that I have read (which is all of them except Slammed, Never Never, and Too Late [which is a free story on Wattpad]) has been amazing. She just nails it every single time, and I have not been disappointed with her stories yet. Like, they are just so easy and quick to read and they are cute and wonderful and heartbreaking but just so so good.

 

Anna and the French Kiss (and Lola and Isla) – Stephanie Perkins

anna_and_the_french_kiss

 

If you’re looking for a cute, fun, romantic, cute, cute, cute book, then this book is exactly what you need. Like it’s just SO CUTE! Anna was my favourite out of the three books, but I did still enjoy the other two. This book is honestly just adorable and fluffy and perfect for summer, or when you just need a cute romance to get you out of that fantasy world. Let’s be real, though, the best part of this book is Etienne St. Clair *swoons*.

 

The Fault In Our Stars – John Green

the_fault_in_our_stars
Ah, TFIOS. What would a favourite contemporaries post be without a John Green book, am I right? I’ve read every John Green book to date and this will always be my favourite. John Green is just one of those authors that makes you feel so many feels, and his books have some of the best darn quotes out there. I feel like his books are the perfect books to pick up when you’re just getting into reading because they are so easy to read and they are beautiful, especially this book. Like, really, if you haven’t yet read this book, what are you doing?????


Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

412xh9uvpbl-_sy344_bo1204203200_
This is one of the most relatable books I have ever read. It’s such an adorably cute book with fun, quirky characters that still manages to touch on real issues. Cath (the main character) was so relatable for me when I read this; like she is literally me in book form. Fangirl is one of my top favourites and I really need to re-read it soon!

 

 

Forbidden – Tabitha Suzema

cvr9781442419964_9781442419964_hr

If you aren’t familiar with this book, it touches on some pretty taboo issues, such as incest. Now, before you completely throw this book in your ‘never going to read ever’ pile, let me convince you otherwise. This book is NOT a romantic love story about a brother and sister. YES it has an incestuous relationship, but it focuses more on the two teenagers trying to deal with their family, schooling and their feelings. I avoided this book for almost a year before I picked it up because I wasn’t sure how I would feel and what it would be like, but it was completely different to what I had expected. This book is beautifully written and it’s just a beautifully tragic story and I loved it.

 

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han

15749186

This is another one of those super adorable contemporaries that you can’t help but love. I actually enjoyed the sequel, P.S. I Still Love You, more than the first, but the first is still so cute and fun. Like, as if the gorgeous cover isn’t enough, the characters are super fun and adorable and Peter Kavinsky is beautiful and I love him a lot okay.

 

 

 

Summer Skin – Kirsty Eagar (New Adult)

26211610

Last but definitely not least, I finished reading this book last week and I absolutely loved it! This is the first book I’ve read that’s set in Australia (besides books in school) and at first it was really weird reading the slang and terminology we use here in a book, but I ended up loving it. This was another relatable book since it’s about a girl who lives on a college at university, which is what I did last year. The main character was super fun and sassy and I loved that she didn’t let anyone push her around! It was a fun and sexy New Adult book and I loved it a lot!

 

 


They are all of my favourite contemporaries! I’m sure that I’ll have added a few more to this list in a year’s time, so I might have to do an updated favourites in the future! I also have review’s on my blog for November 9 and Confess by Colleen Hoover, and Anna, Lola, and Isla by Stephanie Perkins, and Summer Skin by Kirsty Eager if you want to know more of my thoughts!

Let me know what some of your favourite contemporaries are in the comments, and recommend me some to check out!

Until next time lovelies,danielle

3 thoughts on “

  1. I need to give Colleen Hoover another try! I read Hopeless about a year ago and didn’t love it, so then I was hesitant about picking up another one of her books. But EVERYONE seems to love her, so I really want to see if I will too, maybe after the second book.
    Morgan Matson is one of my all time favorite contemporary authors. Have you read anything by her? Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour would probably be my favorite of hers, or Second Chance Summer if you’re up for something a little more heartbreaking.
    Great post! 🙂

    Like

  2. Great post Danielle! Especially useful fir people who are scared of contemporaries *points to self *. But I totally need to read Summer Skin soon – I have been hearing GREAT things about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

