first-line

I believe having a good first sentence is always important. That first line is what you need to hook the reader into your story, so having an interesting and compelling first line is the best and quickest way to grab the reader’s attention.

I’ve read quite a lot of intriguing and captivating first sentences in my time as a reader, so I thought it would be fun to share them! I only picked books I have read, and books that are the first in a series, in case of spoilers (and you don’t just pick up the second or third book without reading the first book first, so obviously the first book had to be the one to hook you in first, if that makes any sense???). These are just some of the many first sentences out there that have gotten me hooked and might hook you in too!

 

Maybe Someday – Colleen Hoover

I just punched a girl in the face.


Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

There was a boy in her room.


Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare 

The demon exploded with a shower of ichor and guts.


Bloodlines – Richelle Mead

I couldn’t breathe.


The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater

Blue Sargent had forgotten how many times she’d been told that she would kill her true love.


All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

Is today a good day to die?

The Iron King – Julie Kagawa

Ten years ago, on my sixth birthday, my father disappeared.

Poison Study – Maria V. Snyder

Locked in darkness that surrounded me like a coffin, I had nothing to distract me from my memories.

 


What are some of your favourite first sentences? Do we share some of the same favourites?

Until next time,danielle

10 thoughts on “

  1. The first line of All the Bright Places gets me every time. Such a compelling opening line.
    My favourite opening line is from On The Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, “My father took one hundred and thirty-two minutes to die.”

    Like

      1. It is such a good read, if you love a bit of contemporary. It is hands down my favourite book, but I’m a touch biased. I do love everything Melina Marchetta writes. She can do no wrong in my eyes.

        Like

  2. Loved this post Dani! Made me laugh because me and my mom had a conversation about this the other day which resulted in the demolition of my bookshelf. XD
    The Raven Boys and Maybe Someday are some of my favorites, but my all time favorite has to be from Vicious (V. E. Schwab), “Victor readjusted the shovels on his shoulder and stepped gingerly over an old, half-sunken grave.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

