tsot

16151178

 

Title: The Sea of Tranquility

Author: Katja Millay

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult, Young Adult, Coming of Age

Publisher: Atria Books

Pages: 434

Synopsis:
Full of rage and without a purpose, former pianist Nastya Kashnikov wants two things: to get through high school without anyone discovering her past and to make the boy who took everything from her pay.

All 17-year-old Josh Bennett wants is to build furniture and be left alone, and everyone allows it because it’s easier to pretend he doesn’t exist. When your name is synonymous with death, everyone tends to give you your space.

Everyone except Nastya, a hot mess of a girl who starts showing up and won’t go away until she’s insinuated herself into every aspect of his life. The more he gets to know her, the more of a mystery she becomes. As their relationship intensifies and the unanswered questions begin to pile up, he starts to wonder if he may ever learn the secrets she’s been hiding or if he even wants to.

The Sea of Tranquility is a slow-building, character-driven romance about a lonely boy, an emotionally fragile girl, and the miracle of second chances.

My Review:

Okay, little bit of a funny story to start this off. So I posted this the other day, which some of you have probably seen, and some even liked. I don’t know how I managed to get any likes, because it was literally my very rough first draft/thoughts on the book. I had written out my full review, but for some strange reason it hadn’t saved anything after my very rough draft. So, I scheduled it and left it be and of course, I don’t realize until a few days later, when I had already posted about the review on Twitter and Instagram for people to go and check out….

So here I am again, rewriting this entire review. To be honest I was so mad I wasn’t even going to worry about redoing it, but I really enjoyed the book so I figured it would be worth it.

First thing I want to say is that this book gets a little dark at times. Don’t go into it expecting a cute and fluffy romance, because it definitely isn’t fluffy. Yes, the relationship is cute at times, but it gets dark and graphic as well. And I don’t mean graphic as in sex, but just pre-warning. It has plenty of profanity and deals with some serious issues, so if that’s not something you like then maybe this book isn’t for you. I will say that I think it kind of sits in between the Young Adult and New Adult genres, as it seems to deal with things common in both genres. Okay, let us move on to my actual thoughts.

I LOVED THIS BOOK!
This book was so much fun to read and I struggled to put it down. And I really mean struggled, because it was 2 in the morning and I didn’t want to stop reading but for the life of me I couldn’t keep my eyes open. It was full of heartbreak and friendship and cuteness and sass and it was just the perfect read after finishing The Raven Cycle (complete series review can be found here). I loved being able to see into both the main character’s heads with the dual perspectives, it really worked well with the story.

The only criticism I have is that the main character, Nastya, frustrated me a little. I know she had very personal issues and was trying to recover from her past, but she kept pushing people and opportunities away and it just annoyed me a little. It didn’t annoy me too badly that it really affected my reading experience, but it was slightly frustrating.

Overall, I would highly recommend this book to those who love a good heartbreaking love story, or anyone really. If you are wanting to give New Adult a try but aren’t sure where to start or are a little intimidated or scared of the sex, I’d say this book is a great place to start for a very lowkey New Adult read. It’s definitely become one of my favourite New Adult/Contemporary books.

My Rating:
Actual rating – 4.5 stars

4stars

 


Have you read this book? What were your thoughts?

Until next time, danielle

5 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

