forbidden

Firstly, if you aren’t familiar with this book and know nothing about it, here’s the synopsis from Goodreads (click the photo to go to the book on Goodreads):

cvr9781442419964_9781442419964_hrSeventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives–and the way they understand each other so completely–has also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending.

Before you stop reading this and think “there’s no way in hell I’ll read a book about incest”, just let me try to convince you otherwise. Honestly, I had this book sitting on my shelf for a year before I had the guts to pick it up and finally read it. I had heard really good things, but I just wasn’t sure how I would go with a book that surrounds such a taboo subject. Let me tell you that I absolutely loved this book and I think everyone should read it or at least try to give it a go. It might seem like a very uncomfortable book to read because of the taboo relationship, but let me just try and persuade you to read it anyway.

 

  1. The writing is beautiful. This book was written so beautifully and in a way where you become instantly hooked. I had never read a book by Tabitha Suzuma before this one, and I can’t even imagine how difficult this book would have been to write in the first place, but the writing and the thought that went into this book really makes me want to read another book by her.
  2. It’s goddamn heartbreaking. Yes, heartbreaking. Not the cute and fluffy contemporary kind of heartbreaking, but the dark heartbreaking. The heartbreaking that hits you and you just sit there after you finish reading the book and don’t even know what to do with yourself. I know we are all suckers for a good heartbreaking story every now and then, and this one is perfect for that.
  3. It shows how difficult life can get, and that you can still overcome it. The two main characters in this story go through your normal high school struggles of studying for exams and trying to make friends and ignore bullies, but for them going to school is like an escape. Their home life isn’t the best, with their parents split and their mother a selfish alcoholic, and they have to look after their younger siblings as well. It’s not easy trying to juggle all of these things, especially for two teens, but they are constantly there for their younger siblings and manage it all somehow.
  4. IT IS NOT JUST ABOUT AN INCEST RELATIONSHIP! This is the most important thing people need to realize about this story. Yes, it has an incest relationship in it, but that’s not the focus of the novel. The author chooses to focus on their family and school struggles, as well as their struggles with trying to deal with and ignore their feelings for each other. It is not a romantic love story between a brother and his sister, not even close. They aren’t constantly making out or having sex, they don’t go on cute dates or do anything like that. It’s a heartbreaking and beautiful and tragic story about a brother and sister who are constantly struggling with their crazy life and on top of that, their feelings towards each other.

I know it probably won’t be for everybody because we all have different tastes and opinions but that’s okay. I do, however, think that everybody should at least give it a try because it’s such a gripping and beautiful story that I loved and I want others to think so too.


I hope I managed to sway some of you to read this book, and if I have then I really hope you enjoy it as much as I did. If you’re still not sure if you want to read it, just give it a go. The worst that can happen is that you don’t like it, which is the same as any book you pick up for the first time anyway.

If you have read Forbidden, let me know what you thought (without spoiling anything for anyone else)!

Also, if you like these sort of posts let me know and I might do more for some underrated books!

Until next time, danielle

8 thoughts on “

  1. oMG I totally agree with everything you said. This book was so beautifully written and I highly respect the author for being able to speak her heart through these characters about a ‘vulgar’ subject. I’ve a soft spot for this book and I definitely think more people should pick this up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read this a few days ago and I absolutely LOVED it. It broke my heart and it made me cry a whole river, but I thought I was beautiful and deep and so very sad… I loved it. 😍 And I agree. It’s so beautifully written that I’d love to read more by the author soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

