nevernight

nevernight-royal-hb-front-white-title
Title: Nevernight

Author: Jay Kristoff

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Publisher: Harper Voyager/Harper Collins

Release Date: 8th-11th of August (depending on where you live)

Pages: 643

Synopsis:
Destined to destroy empires, Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no Hogwarts, but Mia is no ordinary student.

The shadows love her. And they drink her fear.

My Review:

I was lucky enough to be sent an ARC of this beautiful book from Harper Collins Australia in exchange for an honest review, so thank you so much, Harper, for sending me this beauty!

 

People shit themselves when they die.

I don’t know about you, but that first sentence definitely grabbed my full attention. Did it grab yours? Well gentlefriends, that is the first sentence of one of the most unique and amazing books I have ever read, that book being Nevernight. If you want to know why you need to grab this book as soon as it hits the shelves, or better yet, pre-order it so it arrives on your doorstep on it’s release day, then you’ve certainly come to the right place.

I just want to say quickly that this book is rather graphic at times, and involves profanity and sex, and violence (if you hadn’t already guessed from the synopsis), so just be prepared for it all, along with a hell of a lot of fun.

Now, honestly the only bad(ish) thing I have to say about this book is that it took me a little while to get the hang of it. The beginning of the book confused me quite a bit and so it took me a little to get used to the way it’s written and work out what was actually happening. The world that Jay Kristoff created is so complex and different that there was quite a bit of world building in the beginning to try and get my head around, but I didn’t really mind because it was so fascinating and beautiful. It only took me a couple of chapters to get used to it all, and by then I had fallen in love.

This book, wow. It’s written in such a unique way and I’ve never read anything quite like it before. From the way it is written to the actual story line, this book is unlike any book ever. It’s told in two perspectives, one from the past and one in the present. This was what was a little confusing in the beginning, as I wasn’t sure what was happening, but it didnt’ take too long to understand and get the hang of. To make it just that little bit different to any other book you’ve read, Kristoff throws in footnotes, which end up giving you a lot of background information on the world and it’s past. This was again, a slight struggle to get used to, and instead of going back to the sentence or word the footnote had explained, I found myself skipping to the next page and becoming very confused. This happened quite often at the beginning of the novel, but I would eventually realise that I had missed a whole section of the story and end up backtracking, and I soon became used to the footnotes throughout majority of the story.

The world was absolutely beautiful and complex and unique, and I was so captivated by every single detail and part and character. The main character, Mia Corvere, is one of the most kick-arse characters I think I’ve ever read about, and throw in some sass and wit and you have a pretty awesome protagonist. The other characters we meet along Mia’s journey are also really intriguing and fun and it was hard not to love them all. The story was full of unexpected twists and turns and excitement and drama, and basically all of the feels; I honestly had no idea where it was all going to go and how it would come to an end, which was exciting and nerve-racking all at once. The whole novel was written so beautifully, and let’s be real, it’s also one of the most gorgeous looking books I’ve ever seen.

It was truly a masterpiece and I absolutely loved every second of reading it. And I just really need the sequel, like right now would be nice, please.


My Rating:

5stars


This was such a wonderful read and I can’t wait for the rest of the world to be able to get their hands on it (so you all better pre-order and get your hands on it asap)!

Until next time, danielle

7 thoughts on “

  1. As if I didn’t want to read this book badly enough… there comes this review.
    I heard nothing but fantastic things about Nevernight. I think I might explose until August.
    Must have been hard to write a non-spoiler review on a book I’m sure *a lot* has happened in. Jay Kristoff loves to torture the readers, after all.
    Great review (:

    My blog: http://magiverse.blogspot.co.il/

    Like

  2. I’m reading this now and liking it! I find myself reading slower then usual to make sure I know where I am in the story and read the footnotes but I like that it’s making me slow down and learn all the little details 😁
    Great review! I’m definitely going to be pre-ordering a copy so I can have a signed copy!

    Like

  3. This book sounds amazing, I haven’t read anything by this author before but the synopsis has me excited and hooked! I need to find out what its really like, your review has made me 200x more excited!

    Like

Leave a Reply

