me-before-you

 

9780718177027
Title:
Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

Genre: Contemporary, Adult Fiction, Romance

Publisher: Penguin

Pages: 480

Synopsis: 
Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

 

My Review:

I wasn’t sure I was going to enjoy this one. I’ve been disappointed several times this year with overhyped books/book series, and I really didn’t want this one to be added to that list. Thankfully, it wasn’t.

I picked this up just before the movie began it’s screening in the cinema, knowing I really wanted to go and watch it as soon as it came out. And yet, I still haven’t watched the movie.

However, I really enjoyed this book. I was kind of spoiled for it, so I knew what was going to happen in the end, though that didn’t affect my feelings towards the novel at all. It was very slow-paced, but I still found it to be enjoyable and fun nonetheless. Of course, these are not the only feels that this book gives you. It was cute and beautiful and heartbreaking and I think I went through every emotion while reading this. I’m not a crier when it comes to books, but I did shed a couple of tears at the end of this book.

I absolutely loved Lou’s quirky character. She was so fun-loving and selfless and dorky that you just couldn’t help but smile while reading. What I didn’t like was her relationship with Patrick, or that her family would push her around sometimes. I wanted her to stick up for herself, but she was so selfless and was constantly putting other’s needs before her own. Of course, this is a wonderful trait to have, but I did get slightly annoyed with it after a while, and really just wanted her to do what she wanted to do.

But overall, it was both a heartwarming and heartbreaking story of life and love and I really loved it.

 

My Rating:

4stars

 


I still really want to watch the movie because I know it’ll make me sob.
Have you read and seen the movie? What were your thoughts?

Until next time, danielle

6 thoughts on “

  1. Hey!
    I have read the book but I haven’t seen the movie yet. (But I really want to!) I hope it won’t be a disappointment compared to the book because I really liked it. It is a pretty thick book but I don’t remember it going. Which is a good thing.
    I’ve also read After You. I do think this book is a bit less fun than the Me Before You but it’s nice to read about how she continues with her life. Maybe you’ll like it.
    Xx Manon

    Like

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed this one! It’s one of my favourite books of this year, even though I didn’t expect to like it all that much 🙂 Lovely review!

    PS. I found your blog through the twitter group bookstagram chat we were added to, and I love your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

