the-cure

28702005


Title:
The Cure

Author: J. R Knight

Genre: Science Fiction, Novella, Young Adult,

Pages: 130

Publisher: Self-Published

Synopsis:
Welcome to Metravā.
The year is 3433.
Here are some things you need to know:
Run by the governmental body, Peār, Metravā is inhabited by U-mans, a genetically modified race of humans who do not sleep, who work fifteen hours a daāy, and who are fused with their U-chip at birth.
Everyone is the same, everyone blends in, and no one stands out.
That is until Knijä Taū is born.

My Review:

(I was sent a physical copy of this book by the author in exchange for my honest review)

I don’t often read short stories or novellas unless they are connected to a trilogy or series, so I was excited to see what I would think about it. I was intrigued by the synopsis, and the first few pages had me wanting more and needing more details. This novella was extremely interesting and really enjoyable to read. It was unique in the way it was told, through computer files rather than a normal narration, and just the actual plot and story itself was unlike anything I had read before.

I think what really hooked me was the fact that the setting of the story and the world the author created could very well be our future in reality. I could be a little crazy to think so, but the way technology is rapidly advancing and becoming such a vital part of our everyday lives, it almost seemed a possible reality for our future, which was both scary and somewhat exciting.

Unfortunately, I felt as though this type of story should have been put into the form of a novel, or even a series, rather than a novella. We didn’t really get to know the character’s as much as I would have liked. We did receive plenty of back story, but their actual personalities, their hobbies, and even their fear and desires were unfortunately left out. I think if the story was written as a novel, we would have had a better connection to the characters.

Overall, I found this novella to be a very interesting, fun and quick read, but would have liked a little more from the characters and the story.

My Rating:
Actual Rating: 3.5 stars

3stars


 

Until next time, danielle

Leave a Reply

