it-ends-with-us

it-ends-with-us1


Title:
It Ends With Us

Author: Colleen Hoover (aka Queen of Contemporaries and Heartbreak)

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance (is heartbreak a genre????)

Publisher: Atria Books

Pages: 384

Synopsis:
Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up. She graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant and has a total soft spot for Lily; and the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his no dating rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan, her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

 

My Review:

 

There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things.

 

Firstly, can we just talk about how goddamn beautiful this cover is? Like, wow wow wow. I feel like I could stare at its beauty all day, am I the only one?

Secondly, on a much more serious note, you need to read this book. I don’t care who you are, how old you are, whether you like contemporary books or not, YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK. Whether you read it today, tomorrow, or two years from now, just read it at some point in your life, okay?

I’m not saying this because it’s my favourite book by CoHo and I want to fangirl with you all, though it is my favourite, I don’t feel that this is a book that you can really fangirl over. I want you to read this book because it carries such a strong and important message that I think everyone needs to hear (or in this case, read). In saying all this, I want to warn you, without spoiling anything, that this book could be triggering for some people. But I hope that those of you who read this book will take something important away with you once you finish it.

Okay, so with all that said, lemme talk about the actual story now. I went into this story knowing nothing. Yes, I read the synopsis, but it’s extremely vague and after finishing the book I realise just how much is left out. I think it’s best that you go into this book with little to no knowledge of what the story is about. I think it makes it all so much more powerful and much more heartbreaking. And heartbreaking it was.

This book makes you smile, while at the same time it rips your heart out and stomps all over it and laughs in your face. It is so raw and emotional, and your heart is so torn between what is right and wrong, and what it wants and shouldn’t want. It was beautifully written, and I commend Colleen for writing it, because it definitely wouldn’t have been easy to write (that author’s note at the end killed me. LITERALLY KILLED ME. [don’t read the author’s note until after you read the book, though.])

Like all of CoHo’s books, it was easy to read and I read it in under 24 hours. Once you pick it up you really can’t stop. It was just such a beautiful and amazing and heartbreaking novel, and a book that I’ll definitely remember and love for the rest of my life.

My Rating:

5stars


I really think you should all read this if you haven’t yet. It’s so powerful and important and beautiful and you just need to read it, okay?

Have you read this beautiful book yet? What were your thoughts?

Until next time, danielle

5 thoughts on “

  1. This is by far my favorite CoHo book, and I completely agree with you on the fangirl comment. This isn’t the kind of book you can really fangirl over because carries such a deep and important message.
    Great review, Danielle! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

