black

9781925324976


Title:
Black

Author: Fleur Ferris

Genre: Contemporary, Thriller, Young Adult, Mystery

Pages: 276

Publisher: Penguin Random House

Synopsis:
Ebony Marshall is in her final year of high school. Five months, two weeks and four days . . . She can’t wait to leave the town where she’s known only as ‘Black’. Because of her name, of course. But for another reason, too.

Everyone says Black Marshall is cursed.

Three of her best friends have died in tragic accidents. After Oscar, the whispers started. Now she’s used to being on her own. It’s easier that way.

But when her date for the formal ends up in intensive care, something in quiet little Dainsfield starts to stir. Old secrets are revealed and terrifying new dangers emerge.

If only Black could put all the pieces together, she could work out who her real enemies are. Should she run for her life, or stay and fight?

My Review: 

(Thank you Penguin Random House Australia for providing me with a copy to review!)

I’ll start by saying my expectations for this book weren’t very high. I had heard some good things, but there were quite a few mixed reviews. I was in the mood for a quick and easy read, and since Penguin were kind enough to send this book my way, I figured it would be perfect as my next read.

I’m happy to say I was pleasantly surprised by this book, as I was not expecting to enjoy it as much as I did. I literally couldn’t put this book down. I picked it up at around 5pm and finished reading it at around midnight, only stopping for dinner and toilet breaks. This book was gripping and intense and I just needed to know what was going to happen, and how everything was going to end.

Black was a super fast-paced and very easy read, and I couldn’t help but fly through the pages. At times, I felt that the pace was almost a little too fast. At some parts, it felt a little rushed, where it could have been slowed down a little. In particular, I felt that the start was very rushed. I liked how the author jumped straight into the story, but I didn’t like how it jumped straight into the romance; it felt too rushed and forced and much too unrealistic.

That’s really the only issue I had with the story, though. It was a very different and unique story and is unlike anything I’ve ever read before. I’m not sure if it’s just because I haven’t read much mystery/thriller YA books, or if it’s because there aren’t very many around, but I definitely want to read more YA mystery/thrillers similar to this one.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that may want something a little dark and mysterious, something that you won’t want to put down until you get all the answers and know what’s going to happen, something that will keep you on your toes and leave you wanting to read more.

My Rating: 

4stars


If you have read any YA thrillers, please let me know. Or recommend me your favourite YA thriller/mystery if you have any!

Until next time,danielle

7 thoughts on “

  1. Yay – I’m glad you’ve given this such a glowing review. I bought it last month after it was recommended by a good friend. Hope it makes just as good an impression on me. Keep up the great reviews 🙂

    Like

  2. I recently reviewed Black too, and I really enjoyed it. You’re right, it’s such an action-packed read. I also really liked how Ferris raises questions about fear and how fear makes people act irrationally, drawing lines between ‘us’ and ‘them’. I enjoyed her first book, Risk, too. Looking forward to what she writes next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

