tbs

8c8851179-bone

Title: The Bone Season

Author: Samantha Shannon

Genre: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Dystopian, Fantasy, New Adult

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Pages: 466

Synopsis:
The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes forever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford โ€“ a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

My Review:

I want to start off firstly by saying a huge thank you to the lovely people at Bloomsbury for choosing me as a Bone Season Advocate, I am so thrilled and honored to be advocating this series! I was slightly worried I wouldn’t like the series, especially since I am now an advocate for it. But I didn’t have to worry at all because when I started reading The Bone Season, I was hooked.

This book was phenomenal. The world Samantha Shannon has created and the complexity of it is just unreal and amazing. This book was unlike anything I had ever read before, and I really didn’t think I’d fall in love with it but I was proven wrong. I knew I would enjoy it, but I really wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did.

The beginning was quite confusing and slightly intimidating, which I think was the reason I was put off from reading it for so long. The Seven Orders of Clairvoyance mind map at the very beginning of the book, as well as the glossary at the back, were definitely factors that caused me to put off reading the book. If you own The Bone Seasonย and/or have flicked through it, you will know what I’m talking about when I say they were quite intimidating. But they were extremely helpful in learning the world and terminology, especially in the beginning of the novel. When I first started reading, I found myself flicking back and forth many times to use the mind map and glossary, and it definitely helped me remember the names and terms later on. It definitely becomes much easier and less confusing to read after the first 80 or so pages, you just have to keep going!

As you read, you slowly become hooked and you constantly want to know more. I found myself halfway through the book with absolutely no idea where the story was going to go and how it was going to end, and I loved that. It keeps you on your toes, drags you in and you can’t help but love it. The characters were amazing, especially the main character, Paige, as well as Warden (aka my new love). What I also loved was that it’s not heavy on romance. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good romance, but this focuses more so on the world, plot, and character development. The Bone Season is full of action and drama and willย literally make your heart race; you will not be able to put it down.

I would highly recommend this book to all fantasy lovers; it’s so different and unique and just so much fun. Honestly, it kind of reminded me of A Court of Thorns And Roses/A Court of Mist And Fury, though the storyline is very different. But, if you love those two then I think you will definitely love The Bone Season! (Also, Warden reminded me of Rhysand, though not as sassy but still *wiggles eyebrows*). I cannot wait to read the sequel and will definitely be starting it as soon as possible. I can tell that this series is easily going to become one of my absolute favourites.


My Rating:
5stars


Have you read The Bone Season? What were your thoughts?

Until next time,danielle

6 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

