tmo


(IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BONE SEASON THERE WILL BE SPOILERS IN THE SYNOPSIS AND POSSIBLY MY REVIEW, SO PLEASE GO AND READ THE FIRST BOOK BECAUSE IT IS AMAZING [review here])

0000
Title: The Mime Order

Author: Samantha Shannon

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult, New Adult, Dystopian

Pages: 500

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Synopsis:
Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London…

As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on the dreamwalker, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take center stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner. Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. But where is Warden? Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.


My Review:

Where do I even begin with this book? Samantha Shannon has done it again. The Mime Order was full of drama and action and it kept me wanting to know more and so I had to keep reading. I loved being able to learn a bit more about the Citadel of London and how everything worked with the Mime-Lords and the different areas since we didn’t get as much information about it within the first book, and I found it all really interesting and super complex (props to Shannon for her creativity and the craziness that she has created).

I didn’t think this one was as action-packed as the first, but that may have been because I was a lot busier while I was trying to read this and so it took me a little longer to read. Still, I found that there was plenty of action, especially in the last 100 or so pages (and that ending….) that I was still completely hooked.

I absolutely loved Paige’s character development in this book. She became more confident in herself, and I loved how selfless she was unlike the other Mime-Lords and Mollisher’s. She wanted change and she wanted to do what was right and although she struggled and it wasn’t easy she still tried to do her best. I just wish we got to see more of Warden because I love him and I love him and Paige together.

I cannot wait to read The Song Rising, which I was lucky enough to receive an early copy to review from Bloomsbury as part of the Bone Season Advocate campaign. For those of you who have read The Mime Order, and are (im)patiently waiting for the release of The Song Rising (which is released March 2017), I have a lovely gift for you!
Bone Season Advocates were lucky enough to receive the Prelude for The Song Rising, and so I’m going to share it with you all!

If you haven’t read The Mime Order yet, you do not want to read this excerpt or you will be spoiled greatly, so read the book and then come back and read this special content!

The Song Rising- Prelude (doc)
The Song Rising- Prelude (pdf)

After reading that Prelude, I can’t tell you how excited I am to jump into The Song Rising! I can already tell that it’s going to be just as amazing as the other two!

My Rating:

5stars


Are you excited for The Song Rising? What did you think of the Prelude?

Until next time, danielle

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

