gemina

29236299

 

Title: Gemina (Illuminae Files #02)

Author: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Genre: Sci-Fi, Young Adult

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

Pages: 672

Synopsis:
The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and theHypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

My Review:

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t sure how this book was going to top Illuminae (spoiler-free book review here). Those who got their hands on ARCs of Gemina had hyped it up before it was even released, and again I was a little wary. Once I started reading, however, my worries vanished.

This book was so goddamn good, like holy shit.

I didn’t think it would be possible to be as amazing as Illuminae, mainly because I loved the characters in it so much and I wasn’t sure the new characters we would be following in Gemina would be as amazing, but this book proved me so so wrong. Gemina was on a completely different level to Illuminae and I loved it so much more. Yes, you heard right. BETTER THAN ILLUMINAE. How do Amie and Jay do it? Honestly, their writing is just beyond amazing and the way these books are formatted makes the story so much more entertaining and fun to read.

The characters in this series were so much fun. I loved their sass and wit, their charm and kick-ass-ness. Again, I wasn’t sure I’d love Hanna and Nik as much as I loved Kady and Ezra, but I was proven wrong. They were so much fun to follow, and I fell in love with Nik so very quickly. I also loved that one of the characters, who is disabled, was portrayed as such a great, strong, and determined individual. I loved that she didn’t let her disability stop her from being a total bad-ass, and I think that the representation was done exceptionally well.

Gemina hooked me in from the beginning and I literally could not put it down, which lead to me staying up until 4am to finish it. The feels though, oh so many feels. This book ripped my heart out and torn it to shreds more than once.

I also just want to quickly mention that Marie Lu’s artwork for the journal entries was so beautiful! The journals were such a fun addition to the book, and I loved the art so much. A+ work, Marie Lu, A+.

If you haven’t already, you need to read Illuminae and then jump into this crazy masterpiece. This book will blow your mind and you’ll be DESPERATE for the next book (like, I really really need it, like now).

My Rating:

5stars


Did you love this book as much as I did? Did you think it was better than Illuminae?

Until next time, danielle

5 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

