tsr.jpg

 

(SPOILERS AHEAD IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BONE SEASON AND/OR THE MIME ORDER)
(also if you haven’t yet read them then I advise you to do so asap because they are amazing)

song2brising

 

Title: The Song Rising

Author: Samantha Shannon

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult, New Adult, Dystopian, Fantasy

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Pages: 384

Release Date: March 7th, 2017

Synopsis:
Following a bloody battle against foes on every side, Paige Mahoney has risen to the dangerous position of Underqueen, ruling over London’s criminal population.

But, having turned her back on Jaxon Hall and with vengeful enemies still at large, the task of stabilizing the fractured underworld has never seemed so challenging.

Little does Paige know that her reign may be cut short by the introduction of Senshield, a deadly technology that spells doom for the clairvoyant community and the world as they know it…

My Review:

(Thank you Bloomsbury Australia for sending an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my thoughts or opinions while reading this book.)

I want to start off by saying that this was definitely my favourite book so far in the series. However, I hate myself for reading it so damn early because now I have to wait forever to find out what will happen next. I NEED TO KNOW WHAT WILL HAPPEN NEXT.

This book was just as action-packed, drama-filled, and damn addictive as the first two were. There were so many twists and turns, and just like the others I had no idea where it was going or how it would end, which is both exciting and frightening. Samantha Shannon does such an amazing job at keeping the reader on their toes, desperately wanting more, and throwing twists their way that they never even saw coming. But I can’t forget the feels. All. The. Damn. Feels. You will want to laugh and cry and scream and your heart will break and your head will hurt but damn, it is so worth it.

I also want to address how amazing the diversity in this series is. So far, there has been an m/m romance, a transgender character, POC characters, characters suffering from long-term pain, and possibly more that have slipped my mind. The representations in this story have been done really well and in a positive way, which I think is extremely important and needed in literature, especially Young Adult.

Paige Mahoney has become one of my favourite female protagonists. She’s smart, determined, strong, selfless, and just a genuinely good person who just wants to do what is right. Her character development throughout The Mime Order and The Song Rising is just A+. And of course, I can’t forget about Warden. Warden is precious and beautiful, and I love him. The relationship between Paige and Warden is one of my favourite parts of this series; I just love them together so damn much.

This series has become one of my all-time favourites and it’s not even close to being finished yet. I need book four asap, but of course, I can’t get it asap so I’ll just have to cry in the meantime. I honestly cannot recommend this series enough, damn.

My Rating:5stars


Have you read The Song Rising yet? Are you excited for its release? What do you think will happen in book four (be mindful of spoilers though)?
Until next time, danielle

3 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

