disruption

27191194


Title:
Disruption (duology)

Author: Jessica Shirvington

Genre: Dystopian, Young Adult

Publisher: Harper Collins

Synopsis: (synopsis of the first book)
What if a microchip could identify your perfect match?

What if it could be used against you and the ones you love?

Eight years ago, Mercer Corporation’s M-Bands became mandatory. An evolution of the smartphone, the bracelets promised an easier life. Instead, they have come to control it.

Two years ago, Maggie Stevens watched helplessly as one of the people she loved most was taken from her, shattering her world as she knew it. Now, Maggie is ready. And Quentin Mercer – heir to the M-Corp empire – has become key to Maggie’s plan.

But as the pieces of her dangerous design fall into place, could Quentin’s involvement destroy everything she’s fought for?

In a world full of broken promises, the ones Maggie must keep could be the most heartbreaking.

 

My Review:

(Thank you to Harper Collins Australia for sending this duology my way in exchange for an honest review! This in no way influences my thoughts or opinions of these books.)

I will admit, I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy these books. I haven’t read a dystopian in forever, and like a lot of people I’ve become less interested in the genre in the last 12 months. But I had heard some pretty good things about this duology so I figured I would give it a go anyway. I’m really glad I did because this series was so much fun!

The story was fast-paced and full of action and drama, full of twists and turns that I didn’t see coming (although I did find some to be a little predictable), and they were just really easy and quick reads which I loved.

The main character, Maggie, was really fun to follow. She was strong, determined, and super kick-ass, though she did have some flaws but that made her so much more real. Her determination to get what she wanted lead her to be quite selfish at times, but as the story unfolds you see her learning and becoming selfless and caring so deeply for others around her.

Quentin and Gus were such fun and entertaining characters. Their relationship with Maggie, and with each other, although it started out rocky, it grew into such a beautiful friendship. I loved the banter between them and how much they counted on one another, it was fun and felt like a true friendship. Mostly I just loved Quentin; he was so precious and had such a good heart and I just felt sorry for him like majority of the time.

Overall, I think the story wrapped up really nicely at the end, and definitely think it’s worth the read. If you’re wanting to pick up a dystopian again or want to try another one, then I would definitely recommend this fast-paced, fun, and easy read.

My Rating:

4stars


Have you read this duology? What were your thoughts?

Until next time, danielle

3 thoughts on “

  1. I think this duology has to be one of my favourite dystopian series. It was taken by this worlds and characters so much. I managed to read both books in a couple of days. It was addicting, plus the ending of Disruption was hella tense.
    Plus I really love Jessica Shirvington’s writing, Between the Lives is fantastic and I need to get on reading her other series.
    Thanks for the review Danielle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

