favs16

2016 has been a really good year in terms of my reading (apart from reading, it was a shitty year let’s be honest). I also did a favourites of 2015 last year, so if you are interested to see what I loved last year, click here.
Anyway, I read around just over 60 books, slowed down on my book buying (in the second half of the year at least), read some pretty great books, and even found some new all-time faves! It was much too hard for me to try and put these in an order because they are all amazing and I loved them all a lot and it was too hard to choose my number one favourite, okay?!
But anyway, let’s talk about some fabulous books!

(Disclaimer: Some of my favourite reads of the year have been talked about quite recently in the book community, mainly Twitter, for problematic rep and abusive relationships and I just wanted to say that I read the books a lot earlier in the year when I wasn’t as aware of such problems and brushed past them without much thought. I still love the books I’m talking about, but yes, I am now aware that they can be harmful or triggering for some readers.)

 

Six of Crows & Crooked Kingdom – Leigh Bardugo

six2bof2bcrows2bduology

I was a little hesitant going into this duology as it was so hyped and I wasn’t sure it would live up to it, but it definitely lived up to the hype. These books were so amazing, and the characters are so wonderful and perfect and the story is just so much fun.

Saga (volumes 1-6) – Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples

abfef83e51854b5fff19572b4145a80c

This was my very first time reading a graphic novel, and I absolutely loved it. The artwork is beautiful, the story is action-packed and super entertaining, and it’s just a hell of a lot of fun.

Milk and Honey – Rupi Kaur

9781449474256

I’ve never been a really big poetry fan, so I was a little hesitant about this one. But, wow. This collection of poetry was absolutely beautiful. It was emotional, it was heartbreaking, it was raw and just so beautiful and I would highly recommend others to read it, too.

The Princess Saves Herself In This One – Amanda Lovelace

31eo3lmnvcl

Another collection of poetry I couldn’t help but add to this list. I only just read this, and damn I loved it. There were poems that made me want to cry, but also poems that made me say “YES YES YES” and want to share with everyone. This collection of poetry is amazing, beautiful, and feminist and I loved it.

Summer Skin – Kirsty Eagar

26211610

(click image for full review)
This book was super fun, super addictive, and super hard to put down. I absolutely loved the main character,Β who was sassy and just a lot of fun to read about, and I just really loved the fact that it was set in Australia!

Confess – Colleen Hoover

22609310

(click image for full review)
It isn’t a true favourites without a CoHo book, is it? Well, for me it isn’t anyway. This book was perfect, it was emotional, it was beautiful, it was everything you expect from a CoHo book and more, and I loved it so damn much. And since we’re already talking about Colleen Hoover…..

It Ends With Us – Colleen Hoover

it-ends-with-us1

(click image for full review)
Man, this book was just… I can’t even express the way I feel about this book. It is my favouriteΒ CoHo book by far, and one that I feel everyone should try to read. It’s full of heartbreak and happiness and just, all of the feels. It’s such an important book.

Lady Midnight – Cassandra Clare

lm_cover

(click image for full review)
I’m sure you guessed that this book would be in my favourites, and if you didn’t then you do not know me very well at all. This book was everything. EVERYTHING. In true Cassandra Clare style, it also killed me, but I loved it so damn much. (Also just wanted to say that the sequel, Lord of Shadows, will actually be the death of me.)

Nevernight – Jay Kristoff

nevernight-royal-hb-front-white-title

(click image for full review)
Another book I have talked about a hell of a lot. This book was nothing like I expected, and I loved it. The writing is beautiful, the cover is beautiful, the story is beautiful; it was just such an amazing book and Jay Kristoff is such a brilliant writer.

The Young Elites – Marie Lu

20821111

(review coming soon)
This was one of those series that I put off reading for ages and I regret it so much because it was goddamn amazing. Like, it’s easily a new all time favourite series of mine. The characters are awesome, the story is awesome; just go and read this series if you haven’t already okay I cannot recommend enough.

The Bone Season, The Mime Order & The Song Rising – Samantha Shannon

8c8851179-bone

(click image for The Bone Season review, click here for The Mime Order, and here for The Song Rising)
Another new all time favourite series to add to my list. This series isn’t even finished yet and I am already obsessed with it. I think I talk about this series almost every day, that’s how much I love it. It’s super addictive, unique and fun, and I honestly will not stop recommending it until more people read it.

Illuminae & Gemina – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

screenshot_2016-02-29-09-40-40-1-1

(review of Illuminae, click here, Gemina, click here)
This series is insane. The last book comes out in 2017 (which I am so excited for), yet I am already obsessed with these books and this world. Jay and Amie (who are two of the loveliest people ever) have created such a unique reading experience to go with their crazy world and characters and it’s amazing. These books will hook you in and take you on the biggest and craziest ride of your life.

 


 

So there you have it! My favourite books of 2016! I highly recommend all of these books if you haven’t already read them because they are all amazing.
Let me know some of your favourites of 2016!

Until next time,Β danielle

4 thoughts on “

  1. GEMINA. NEVERNIGHT. MY BABES. Your list was awesome! I’ll check out your 2015 one as well. πŸ˜€ Can’t wait for the final Illuminae files book next year aaahhh! Bring on 2017!

    Like

Leave a Reply

