tye

20821111

 

Title: The Young Elites

Author: Marie Lu

Genre: Young Adult, Dark Fantasy

Publisher: Penguin Teen

Pages: 384

Synopsis:
Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumoured to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all.

Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen.
Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.


My Review:

(This is my review for the whole trilogy, not just The Young Elites. Also,  I would like to thank Penguin Australia for sending The Midnight Star [last book in the trilogy] my way in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my thoughts or opinions in any way. )

I had been meaning to read this series forever, no joke. I had heard so many amazing things about it and I really wanted to read it, but it was never on my immediate to-buy list. I can honestly say I am so mad at myself for taking so long to finally read it because this trilogy was goddamn amazing. SO SO AMAZING.

One of the things I loved about these books (like, there are a lot of things I loved so bear with me while I try to explain all my love and feels for this trilogy) was how it wasn’t like most other YA fantasy books where we follow the hero of the story. In The Young Elites, we get to be inside the head of a ‘villain’, rather than a hero, and I loved that. It was such a different and unique experience and I really wish there were more books like it.

Speaking of the villain, Adelina is one of the most complex, scary and dark characters that I have ever read. I honestly found some of what she was thinking and doing disturbing and crazy and I even found some of it difficult to get through because she was such a contrast from myself and the characters I am used to reading. BUT it’s what made me love her even more. She was such a beautifully crafted character, so unique and complex, and her character development throughout the trilogy was absolutely amazing.

I also just want to quickly mention my love for Magiano. WHAT A BEAUTIFUL AND PRECIOUS LITTLE SOUL OH MY GOD I LOVE HIM SO MUCH.

Without spoiling anything, Marie Lu did such a brilliant job at ending the story in The Midnight Star. The ending killed me, like literally one of those ‘finish the book and stare at the wall and contemplate your life’ moments. It was such a bittersweet ending, but I’m honestly super sad the story is over because I fell in love with the diverse characters and the world so easily and heavily.

Overall the trilogy was super fast-paced and addictive; you won’t want to put it down! It has easily become one of my new favourites and I highly, highly recommend everyone to read it!

My Rating: 5stars

 


Have you read this amazing series yet? If you haven’t, I urge you to do so ASAP!

Until next time, danielle

10 thoughts on “

  1. This is one of my favorite series! I loved Adelina’s development over the series, it was written out so well. The ending of Midnight Star killed me, but I love the series nonetheless.

    Like

  2. Yaaaaassssss I’m so glad you loved this series! It’s also one of my all time favourites!! And yes, I love Magiano too! He was so sweet and shitty lol. And Adelina is my absolute fave female character ever – I need Marie Lu to write more characters like her 😀 Great review ❤

    Like

  3. I’ve been meaning to get to this series for ages! I’m so glad you loved it ❤ I really enjoyed Marie's Legend trilogy (soz Sam) and that also has a very bittersweet ending. I'm definitely looking to read more books featuring darker themes and anti-heroes/villains/morally grey characters and I already own the first two books, so 100% need to get to them soon. Great review ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

