booksta101

In recent months, I’ve had quite a lot of people ask me questions regarding bookstagram, from general tips to filters and apps to use. I figured it would be a good and fun idea to try and answer all of the questions, as well as give some tips, in one post! That way, I don’t have to keep answering the same questions over and over because they’re already answered here! I hope some of my tips and answers are able to help some of you out, and if there’s anything I don’t answer or you would like to ask, feel free to leave a comment on this post or on my Instagram!

Of course, these are just my tips and opinions. Other people may have different opinions, inspiration, or ideas, to me, but I do hope they can be helpful in some way, even if it’s only small.

TIPS:

  • Firstly, try not to worry about the number of followers you have. Of course, having a lot of followers is great, but it shouldn’t be the main reason you’re doing bookstagram. Bookstagram is all about the community, sharing our love of books and even photography. I know it isn’t easy to gain followers, but personally, I found that if you’re active within the community, talk to people and comment on their photos, make friendships, etc, it helps a lot. Try not to do shoutout for shoutouts, or sfs, or follow backs, and definitely don’t comment on other’s photos asking them to follow/like your photos. Most people find these things annoying, and pretty rude. These are usually pretty easy ways to lose followers rather than gain them.
  • A good way to gain followers and get new people to see your photos is to use hashtags. I like to comment a bunch of hashtags on each of my photos as it makes the caption look less messy, but it’s up to you! Use hashtags such as #bookstagram, #bibliophile, #booklover, #books, and anything like that. You could also copy the hashtags I use, which you will find in the comments of most of my photos.
  • Try to stick to a theme. When I’m looking at a new bookstagram to follow, I will always look for those who have similar photos, a theme, or the same filter. I find that they look more organised, cleaner, and it is just more aesthetically pleasing in my opinion. Finding a theme and sticking to it is always hard, but it just takes a lot of trial and error, and practice. Find a background that you can take your photos against, whether that be a white background or your bedspread or some trees in your backyard, and try to use it for all your photos. If you can’t do that, try to stick to using one filter on all of your photos. This will make them all look similar and more pleasing together. Of course, this is all just my opinion, it’s really up to you! As long you’re happy with your photos, that’s all that should really matter!
  • For inspiration, look at other accounts, Pinterest, Tumblr, but make sure not to copy and give credit or ask permission first if you use someone else’s idea. Try to be original, though it can be hard.
  • Don’t worry about the type of equipment you have, just take photos with whatever you have! It doesn’t matter how many books you have or if you have props or not, just use what you have, and have fun with it all!

 

QUESTIONS:

What editing app do you use?

I use VSCO, which is a free app and you can download free filter packages as well as purchase some if you want!

What filter do you use?

I use the hb2 filter that you can download for free in the VSCO app. I also usually play around with the exposure, fade, and contrast of the photos as well.

How do you get the right lighting?

I try to take my photos in the middle of the day/early afternoon when it is usually the brightest. It also helps when the sun is out!

How do you achieve a minimalist feed?

It quite a lot of effort, actually! I just try to use different white backgrounds, which is very limiting but I love the overall look!

How do you get ideas for minimalist pictures?

It can be difficult, a lot of the time I’ll just get random ideas and they’ll turn out pretty good, but I do also get inspiration from other minimal feeds as well.

What camera do you use?

I just use my iPhone 6! Like I said earlier, you don’t need to spend a whole heap of money on a DSLR and tripod, just use what you have!

How to take pictures without casting shadows?

This can be tricky, it all depends on where you’re taking the photos. I just try to change angles and just take a bunch of pictures before I find the right one with no shadow! Also, it helps to not take photos in direct sunlight!

When/why did you start your account?

I started my account 2 years ago, and I can’t really remember why! I’m very glad that I did, though! I’ve made so many friends and met some amazing people through it!

 


That’s all! I hope some of these helped you out, and if you have any other questions then let me know!

Until next time, danielle

 

7 thoughts on “

  1. I’m happy to see you just use your phone for photos. I keep meaning to ask in a caption what people use for their photos because some seem so professional and I’ve been picturing all these people with super expensive cameras and photo editing software and professional lighting and stuff, with me just using my Samsung phone lol. Your photos are beautiful, so this makes me feel better! Thanks for sharing!

    ~Marie @ Ramblings of a Daydreamer

    Like

Leave a Reply

