cute-contemps

Since it’s Valentine’s Day I thought I would share some super cute, heartwarming, totally full of feels, contemporaries, because why the hell not? I don’t think Valentine’s Day is a big thing anymore, at least not in Australia. Or maybe it’s just because I don’t really do anything for Valentine’s Day anymore, mainly because my boyfriend and I have our anniversary like two weeks before and would rather celebrate that, but anyway I’m going off on a tangent here.

So, here are some cute contemporaries that I love!

 

Everything Leads To You – Nina Lacour

18667779

(click image for full review)

This book was SO. DAMN. CUTE. I absolutely loved the storyline, the adventure, the f/f romance, the film focus… It was just everything you could ever want in a super cute romance novel.

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

412xh9uvpbl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

This is one of my all-time favourites. The main character, Cath, was so relatable, and the romance was so unbelievably cute, and it was funny, and cute, and adorable, and did I mention cute?

Anna, Lola, Isla – Stephanie Perkins

anna_and_the_french_kiss

I think just about everyone has read these books by now, and if you haven’t then I am quite shocked. These books are super fun, cute, and entertaining reads that you really just can’t help but love.
(I also have full reviews for Anna, Lola, and Isla.)

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han

15749186

This book is basically the sweetest thing ever. The story is adorable, the main character has such a good family relationship, the romance is wonderful; what more could you want? (Also, the last book in the series is coming out this year and I am so ready.)

The Truth About Forever – Sarah Dessen

2967050-_uy200_

Can you have a cute contemporaries list without a book by Sarah Dessen? I wouldn’t think so. This is the only Sarah Dessen book I’ve read so far, but it was super cute, and fun, as well as being sad, but it is a really good coming of age book with a very sweet love story.

Under Rose-Tainted Skies – Louise Gornall

9781910655863

This is a heart-warming and important book about agoraphobia and OCD. Although it deals with some serious issues, I found the romance within the story to be cute and sweet and perfect. It’s definitely an important novel and I think a lot of people will thoroughly enjoy reading it. (Trigger warning: this book does also deal with self-harm.)

History Is All You Left Me – Adam Silvera

30139283

Now, I know. This book isn’t exactly a cute, fluffy contemporary. In reality, it’s heartbreaking and emotional, but I had to add it to this list. The love story is adorable, nerdy, and just so cute I couldn’t not mention it. Of course, it’ll also break your heart, but I think they’re my favourite kind of contemporaries.

The Fault In Our Stars – John Green

the_fault_in_our_stars

Yes, I know. This book is sad. I also know that it’s probably been read by everyone, but I couldn’t leave it out. Although I’ve definitely lost my love for this book, I still can’t help but appreciate Hazel and Gus’ romance; it was pretty special.

 

Honourable mention: I couldn’t really add Colleen Hoover’s books to this list since they aren’t exactly cute and are more ‘rip your heart out and stomp all over it’ contemporaries, but some of them do have cute romances, just with a hell of a lot of heartbreak.

 


There you have it, some cute contemporary recommendations in honour of Valentine’s Day! What are some of your cute contemporary recommendations? I’d love to hear them!

Until next time, danielle

10 thoughts on “

  1. LOVE this list!! I’m the biggest Nina LaCour fan and love all her books. Also, yes to Fangirl. I read it in one sitting and my heart hurt so bad and then my heart was so happy. I also this To All the Boys is adorable and TFIOS is heart-wrenching but beautiful. I need to read both of Adam Silvera’s books still. Must do that soon!

    Like

  2. Brilliant list! Sarah Dessen is the author who introduced me to YA contemporary (and possibly YA) so I will always have a special place for her in my heart. My personal favourite of hers is “What Happened to Goodbye” but feel free to ask me about her other books (the only ones of hers I haven’t read are her two latest releases)

    I totally agree with you on Anna (though I have yet to read the rest of the trilogy) & Fangirl. 😉 The others are all on by TBR and I’m super excited to get to them, though I have mixed feelings about TATBILB because I really was not a fan of Jenny Han’s Summer series but am still going to try them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

