dare-you

I was going to start by saying that I hadn’t done a book tag in a while, but I literally posted the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag a few weeks ago, so I guess that would be a lie. But, I have been super slack with my blog lately and have been struggling for content, so when Angel (@AngelReads) tagged me to do this tag I was thrilled! It looks like a lot of fun and also gives me something quick and easy to post (heheh).

So let’s do this!

RULES:
You must be honest
You must answer all the questions
You must tag at least 4 people

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?

Honestly, I have no idea. It could be a few different books, but I really have no idea which one has been in my collection for the longest. Either The Fault in Our Stars or My Sister’s Keeper, I think….

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

My current read is The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, which I am LOVING and will be reviewing once I finish. My last read was The Song Of Achilles by Madeline Miller, which I gave 4/5 stars, and my next read I haven’t even decided yet. Maybe Far From You by Tess Sharpe or A Quiet Kind Of Thunder by Sara Barnard.

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?

Well… *cracks knuckles* There are a lot of popular books that I really didn’t like, but if I have to pick one that I hated, it would have to be The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons. If you want to know my full thoughts, I have a review here.

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

There are a couple of series that I feel like everyone has read and were super popular and hyped about 4-5 years ago, but now I just feel like I’ll never read them. Those series being Matched by Ally Condie, and Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. I still have both series on my shelves, but I have a feeling I’ll probably be unhauling them in the near future.

5. What book are you saving for retirement?

This is a tricky question… I would say Game of Thrones or Lord of The Rings, but I doubt I’ll ever read those. Maybe some classics? I honestly have no idea, retirement is a long way away I don’t want to think about it just yet!

6. Last page: read it first, or wait ’til the end?

I’d rather just wait until the end, but I do like to check the number of pages in the book and that can sometimes lead me to glance at the last few words, which often leads to spoilers and then I hate myself for it.

7. Acknowledgement: waste of paper and ink, or interesting aside?

I think they’re good, and I think as an author you want to acknowledge the people that have helped you with your story. I don’t tend to read them very often unless I really loved the story or love the author.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

A lot of the characters that I love have pretty horrible and scary lives, even if they have a happy ending. If I had to pick someone, though, it would probably be Tessa Gray from The Infernal Devices purely for Will Herondale and Jem Carstairs.

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time, person?)

My copy of My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult is super battered and water damaged because I bought it when I was in Cambodia volunteering and trekking with my school, and so every time I look at it, it brings back memories of my trip and so will probably stay on my shelves for a very long time.

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

One of my most prized books is my signed copy of November 9 by Colleen Hoover, which I won in an Instagram giveaway. What makes it extra special is the fact that I had just recently read and fallen in love with the book when I won this giveaway, but the giveaway didn’t state what book you would be winning. I didn’t really know what I was going to be receiving, but the host of the giveaway said that I’d really love what I had won. So when it arrived and I unwrapped it to see a signed copy of November 9 I admit I squealed a little!

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

I tend to give books away a lot since sometimes I end up with duplicate copies or lose interest in a book that I bought in the past. So I will give my books away to my friends if they want them, but I’ve never really given a book away for a special reason.

12. Which book has been with you most places?

All of my books have moved from my old house to my new apartment, and whenever I travel I always take a few books with me, so there are quite a few that have come with me on my travels. Clockwork Princess has been to Queensland, a couple of the Bloodlines books have travelled to Thailand, I think one of The Mortal Instruments books has also been to Thailand, a few I took with me when I lived on campus in my first year of Uni. I ‘m sure there are other’s that I am forgetting, but I really don’t think I could pick just one!

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

All my required readings in school were pretty awful, so I either sold the books or donated them, and definitely never plan on revisiting them.

14. Used or brand new?

I’d say both! I love the look of old, loved books, but I also love buying brand new books and being able to crack the spines and add your own love to them.

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

No, and I don’t see myself ever picking one up.

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

I really enjoyed the If I Stay movie a lot more than the book. I found the book pretty disappointing, but I ended up really enjoying the movie!

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks included?

Not that I can recall. I don’t think I’ve ever been hungry because of a book, but I have definitely had cravings/wanted to go out and buy or cook a certain food that was in a book!

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

My own? (heheh) I have a few friends that I have very similar opinions and interests to regards to books, so they are usually the ones that I’ll trust with book recommendations and advice.

19. Is there a book out of your comfort zone (e.g., outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving?

I’ve never been a fan of poetry, so when I saw everyone raving about Milk and Honey I wasn’t really sure if I should buy into the hype. Thankfully, I decided to pick it up and I ended up absolutely loving it, which lead me to similar poetry books that I now want to read and fall in love with.

 


That’s all the questions! Thank you, Angel, for tagging me!
I tag Tash (Confessions From Romaholics), Casey (Adopt A Book Aus), Mollie (Mollie The Reader), and Anne (Books, Boots, and Guacamole)!

Let me know if you agreed with any of the answers I’ve given, or feel free to give me your own answers!

Until next time, danielle

10 thoughts on “

  1. What an awesome book tag! I read the Uglies books a few years back and enjoyed them immensely (I don’t know if I would now though). I was interested in why you say you’ll never read a Dan Brown book – I have read two. Most recently Inferno and I enjoyed it!

    Like

  2. I knew it was going to be The Bronze Horseman even before I read your answer 😉 But omg – checking the page numbers and reading spoilers and then hating myself HAPPENS ON THE REGULAR. WHY. I probably should have learnt by know but apparently not lol

    Like

  3. Dw, you’re not missing out on anything by skipping the Matched series xD The first book was great but then it kinda went downhill from there. YESSS omg & after you’re done being Tessa for a day, can I have a shot? BC JEM ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

