like-this

You know when you read a book and it’s so great that you want to read every other book like it? No? Just me? Well, today, I shall be sharing a few recommendations of lesser-known books that are similar to some popular books. And if that didn’t make any sense, then basically if you like this popular book, then I think you should read this not-so-popular book. Make sense? Maybe? A little?
Anyway, I did one of these back in October (click hereΒ to view), and I really enjoyed it! So, I figured I’d do another one since I have a few more recommendations to add to the list!

 

If you like Hopeless by Colleen Hoover, then you should read The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay:
These books are quite similar, where both are quite dark, emotional and raw contemporaries where the main character has a fairly dark past that they’d rather keep a secret OR has been kept a secret from them. Both books are amazing, but definitely be prepared for heartbreak and one (or two, if you haven’t read either) hell of an emotional ride! (I also reviewed The Sea of Tranquility,Β so if you want to know more about it and my thoughts, click here.)

 

If you like History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera, then you should read The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis:
Both books are own voices novels, and what I found really similar about the two is that they both focus quite heavily on dealing with grief and the loss of a close friend/loved one. They are both pretty heartbreaking reads, so again, be prepared for some major feels. I really enjoyed both of these books, and would definitely recommend you to check both of them out if you haven’t already.

 

If you like Anna, Lola, and Isla by Stephanie Perkins, then you should read Everything Leads To You by Nina Lacour:
Basically, if you love super cute, fun, and easy-to-read contemporaries (such as Anna, Lola, and Isla), then you will love Everything Leads To You. This book is super adorable, the romance is cute, the adventure is fun; it’s just the perfect contemporary for fans of Stephanie Perkins, and cute contemporaries in general. (I have reviews for all four books on my blog. Click the titles to check them out! Anna, Lola, Isla, and Everything Leads To You.)

 

If you like Black by Fleur Ferris, then you should read Far From You by Tess Sharpe:
Now, I don’t really think Black is that well known, so this one kind of goes both ways. Both books are revolved around a mystery, and both books will definitely keep you on the edge of your seat. You will definitely be trying to solve the mystery/crime with so many different theories, and I can assure you that you’ll probably get it all wrong! (My review for Black can be found here.)

 

If you like Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall, then you should read A Quiet Kind Of Thunder by Sara Barnard OR The Things I Didn’t Say by Kylie Fornasier:
Again, these three books are not that well known, but they are all fairly similar and definitely all worth the read! Both The Things I Didn’t Say and A Quiet Kind Of Thunder feature a selective mute main character, and Under-Rose Tainted Skies has a main character with agoraphobia. They are all fairly similar in the way that each main character is trying not to let their illness or phobia control their lives, and they each have important stories to tell. My favourite of the three was definitely A Quiet Kind Of Thunder, but I would recommend you to check out all three if you haven’t already!

 


That’s all my recommendations for now! It was only a short list, I know, but I hope you’ve found it helpful and have added some new books to your TBR!

Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought! Do you have any ‘like this, read that’ recommendations?

Until next time,danielle

9 thoughts on “

  1. Great recommendations! I can definitely see the links between each book (even if I haven’t yet read them myself). I can’t say I’ve heard of Sea of Tranquility, but I’ll definitely check it out! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

