mini reviews

 

30981706A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

Synopsis:
Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life – she’s been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He’s deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she’s assigned to look after him. To Rhys, it doesn’t matter that Steffi doesn’t talk, and as they find ways to communicate, Steffi finds that she does have a voice, and that she’s falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it.

 

My thoughts:

This book is so unbelievably cute. I loved the friendship, I loved the relationship, I loved the characters, I just really loved it. If you’re after a super cute, easy contemporary that also deals with important issues and topics such as anxiety, and focuses on an adorable romance between a girl with selective mutism and a boy who is deaf, then this is the perfect book for you.

 

My rating:

5stars


 

20517739Far From You by Tess Sharpe

Synopsis:
Nine months. Two weeks. Six days.

That’s how long recovering addict Sophie’s been drug-free. Four months ago her best friend, Mina, died in what everyone believes was a drug deal gone wrong – a deal they think Sophie set up. Only Sophie knows the truth. She and Mina shared a secret, but there was no drug deal. Mina was deliberately murdered.

Forced into rehab for an addiction she’d already beaten, Sophie’s finally out and on the trail of the killer—but can she track them down before they come for her?

 

My thoughts:

This book is so different and unique in the Young Adult genre. It was full of mystery, suspense, diversity, and I goddamn loved it. It’s a race against the main character to try and solve the mystery of her best friend’s murder before her, and I loved that it was full of surprises and twists and wasn’t predictable (at least, not for me, anyway). It deals with serious issues such as drug addiction (so it could be triggering for some, just a warning), but is also about trust, and friendship.

 

My Rating:

5stars


 

31520111We Are Okay by Nina Lacour

Synopsis:
You go through life thinking there’s so much you need…

Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother.

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend, Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit, and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.

 

My thoughts:

After absolutely loving Everything Leads To You, I was a bit scared this one wouldn’t meet my high expectations, but I really enjoyed this book. It was a super quick and easy read, but definitely still packed a bit of a punch. It largely focuses on grief, and I think it did so extremely well. I was definitely surprised by the way everything all wrapped up, but in a good way, because I did not see it coming. I really love Nina Lacour’s writing style and definitely want to read more of her works.

 

My rating:

4stars

 


Have you read any of these books? What were your thoughts?

Until next time, danielle

13 thoughts on “

  1. All the three books sound so FREAKING interesting, especially ‘Far From You’. I love these kind of Mini Reviews and Dani, you just sum up everything so well!! Keep up the great work! ❤🌌

    Like

  2. I’d never heard about Far From You until you mentioned it! It sounds very good and gritty, I might have to get my hands on it & try it out! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

