upside

 

cover-reveal-the-upside-of-unrequited-large

 

Title: The Upside of Unrequited

Author: Becky Albertalli

Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Young Adult

Publisher: Penguin Teen Australia

Pages: 336

Synopsis: 
Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

 

My Review:

(Thank you to Penguin Teen Australia for sending this book my way in exchange for my honest review, this in no way affects my thoughts or opinions of this book.)

Okay, first, the negatives, because let me assure you there really weren’t any, but just a few minor, teeny things I wanted to address. Firstly, I found the beginning of the book kind of slow-paced. I mean, we kind of jump straight into the story, which I loved, but I don’t know what it was, I just found it took me a little while to really get engaged with the story. This may have been due to the writing style, which I found slightly choppy and took me a little to get used to, but within like 20 pages I was over it and became extremely invested in the story and characters. So really, everything I just said was pointless because it really didn’t affect my feelings toward the book that greatly.

MOVING ON to the good stuff, aka the rest of the book. This book was so light and fluffy and exactly what I needed after being stuck in a reading slump for a month and finishing A Gathering of Shadows by V.E Schwab (which if you’ve read then you will be familiar with the feels I felt after finishing it). It was a super fun, adorable, quick and easy read, and I just really, really enjoyed it.

This novel had such amazing positivity throughout it, like, I didn’t know I needed it until it was in writing in front of me. There was body positivity, sexuality positivity (if that even makes sense), and such strong familial bonds which are so rare and needed in Young Adult books! I don’t even know how to explain it, but I just loved how normal and easy the author included breastfeeding, same-sex marriage/couples, sex talk; it was just so refreshing to see in a Young Adult book and I think more YA authors should take note.

I think what I loved the most was the romance in this book; IT WAS SO DAMN CUTE!!! There were actual moments whilst reading where I literally flailed and squealed, and if that doesn’t explain how cute this book is then I don’t know what will.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. Apart from the very few things mentioned at the start, this book was perfect. I think it’s an important novel full of adorableness, and I would definitely recommend everyone go and read it.
(I also really need to read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda now, especially since it’s becoming a movie and Simon made a very small cameo in this novel.)

 

My Rating:
4.5 stars

4stars


 

Have you read this book yet? What were your thoughts?

Until next time, danielle

3 thoughts on “

  1. I’ve been seeing this book everywhere, I must devour it!! It seems so positive which is fracken fantastic, of course. Adding it to my TBR (aka hopefully it doesn’t get lost to the sands of time)

    Like

Leave a Reply

