mid year

 

Okay, seriously, how are we already halfway through 2017? What is going on? What is this sorcery????? It literally feels like February was just the other day; HOW IS TIME GOING BY SO QUICKLY?

Now that I’ve gotten that mini existential crisis out of the way, let’s talk about all the book things I’ve read/loved/disliked/hauled this year. This may be a little long, so bear with me, but I thought it would be fun to see how well (or not) I’m doing with my reading and my TBR so far in 2017.

So, let’s get right to it, shall we?

 

Books read so far:

I’ve read 22 books so far this year, that’s including a poetry collection and two graphic novels (though it still counts okay). I set my Goodreads goal to 20 purely because I didn’t want the pressure put on my reading if I had it set on 50. I knew I’d end up reading more than 20 books, and I’m pretty happy with the amount I have read so far. I’m definitely not a super fast reader (though I wish I was), and I did hit a reading slump during April, but overall I’m happy with 22 books so far.

Here’s a list of all the books I’ve read in 2017 (as of the 15th of June). I have reviews up for some, so click the title to read if you are interested!

 

Favourites:

I’ve been pretty lucky and have enjoyed practically all of the books I have read in 2017. My lowest rating has been 3 stars, and I’ve definitely tried to be harsher with my reviews and ratings so I don’t give out 5 stars as lightly/easily as I have in the past.

Some of my favourites (aka the books I absolutely loved and gave 5 stars) include:

  • Everything Leads To You
  • The Hate U Give
  • A Quiet Kind of Thunder
  • Far From You
  • The Shades of Magic series
  • Lord of Shadows

 

Continuing on with favourites, some of my favourite 2017 releases have been:

  • The Hate U Give
  • A Quiet Kind of Thunder
  • A Conjuring of Light
  • Lord of Shadows
  • The Song Rising (which I read last year but was released in March 2017)
  • Queens of Geek
  • The Upside of Unrequited
  • History Is All You Left Me

 

I could bore you and list all of the books I’ve hauled so far this year but that list is already way too long (it’s currently sitting at 52) and I am ashamed *cries*. So, moving on to what’s to come for the rest of 2017.

 

Most Anticipated for the second half of 2017:

2017 has been a year of amazing releases, and it just keeps getting better from July until December! Here’s a small number of a large list of amazing releases for the remainder of 2017.

  • Godsgrave
  • Warcross
  • They Both Die At The End
  • There’s Someone Inside Your House
  • Invictus
  • Unearthed
  • 27 Hours
  • The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue
  • A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares
  • Beautiful Mess

I am sure there are more that I have missed but those are the few that I’m definitely really excited for!

 

TBR for the second half of 2017:

I always suck at sticking to TBRs which is why I rarely do them, but there are some books that I really want to try and read before the year ends. I won’t be too upset if I don’t get to them, but like, it’d be nice if I did, ya know?

  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy
  • The Book Thief
  • On The Jellicoe Road
  • This Savage Song
  • A Monster Calls

(And of course, I will also want to read all of the books I listed above this TBR as soon as I can get my hands on them)

 


And that’s really all for my mid-year update! If you’ve read any of the books I mentioned here, let me know your thoughts! I’d also love to know how you’re reading challenge (if you’re doing one) is going, so give me a lil update on that!

Until next time, danielle

7 thoughts on “

  1. It hit me reading this post how fast the first half of the year has gone, I can’t believe were already in June. I have a Goodreads reading challenge of 50 set up and i’ve currently read 15 books. So congratulations on 22! I think its very easy to get caught up in the how many numbers but 22 is still amazing. I always like to tell myself some people don’t even read one book a year!
    The Hate U Give also made my favourite list this year, I really need to make my review for that 🙂

    Like

  2. Awesome post! I read the Shades of Magic series this year too and LOVED it! I read The Book Thief last March (2016) and it is now my favourite standalone! I hope you enjoy it!

    Like

  3. Seriously HOW is 2017 half over?? HOW??? I feel like ever since I had a kid time has been going at an absurd speed.

    I love that you loved Everything Leads to You and Far From You. I really liked both of those too. 22 books is super good!! I’m a slow reader too (at least when compared to the bookish community) and I hope to read 50 books this year too!

    Like

  4. Awesome post! I’m glad you enjoyed reading The Hate U Give, it’s definitely one of my 2017 favorites as well. There are some books on your list that I’ll have to check out! I know the rest of the year will have a ton of awesome reads in store for you!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

