wreck

9780143784319

 

Title: Wreck

Author: Fleur Ferris

Genre: Young Adult, Thriller, Contemporary

Publisher: Penguin Random House Australia

Pages: 288

Publication Date: 3rd of July, 2017

Synopsis: 
Tamara Bennett is going to be the first journalist to strictly report only good news. Finished with high school, Tamara is ready to say goodbye to her sleepy little town and part-time job at the local paper. O-weeks awaits, which means parties, cute boys and settling into student res with her best friend Relle. Things take an unexpected turn, however, when she arrives home to find her house ransacked and her life in danger. What is this mysterious note? And why does it mean so much to one of Australia’s most powerful media moguls? Caught between a bitter rivalry and dangerous family secret, who can Tamara trust? Or should she trust herself?

 

My Review:

(A big thank you to Penguin Random House Australia for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review! This is no way affects my thoughts or opinions on the book.)

When I saw that Fleur Ferris was coming out with another book I just had to get my hands on it immediately. Fleur’s books are thrilling, suspenseful Young Adult novels and I love that, especially since there are not nearly enough thrillers in YA.

Wreck didn’t let me down, either. It gripped me from the very beginning, and I was hooked until the very last page. Readers are thrust straight into the action from the start, and I loved that there was no unnecessary build-up to take away from the all of the action.

The book is quite short, and so is a super quick and easy read. The writing is very simple and flows really nicely, and I think this style works really well with a YA thriller because you just want to know what’s happening as soon as it happens.

I did find, however, that the main character made some pretty stupid decisions sometimes. I wanted to shout “don’t trust strangers” so many times, but I guess if your life is at risk and you’re being chased then you probably wouldn’t be thinking very wisely (and let’s be real, if I was in her position I probably would have died at the very beginning of the novel). There was also a little bit of insta-love, though (thankfully) it wasn’t the main focus of the plot and it was only very brief.

Overall, I couldn’t put the book down until I found out all the answers and solved all the clues. This book was really enjoyable, action-packed, and full of drama. Fleur Ferris does such a brilliant job of hooking the reader in and surprising them, and I cannot wait for her next thrilling book!

 

My Rating:

4stars


An interview with Fleur Ferris!

Describe Wreck in 3 words.

Gripping, exciting, suspenseful.

What inspired you to write Wreck?

I drew inspiration from a number of sources when coming up with the plot for Wreck. Whenever I heard of the discovery of a floating note at sea I wondered how long it had been floating for, how far it had travelled, who sent it, were they still alive, what did the note say. Often the discovery of these notes made world news and sometimes the sender, or members of their family, were tracked down. These stories got me thinking… What if the floating note wasn’t a wonderful discovery? What if it revealed something sinister? What if the person who found it was unknowingly thrust into danger simply because they had possession of it, simply because they had seen it? What if the note indicated or revealed something someone wanted concealed? For the discoverer, it would be as unfair as it was random and they would be completely blindsided by what was coming.

Instantly, my protagonist, Tamara, came to life in my mind. I knew where she lived, that she was the girl-next-door type of girl, excited by her goals and aspirations and about to move out of home and commence university. But instead of chasing her dreams she is running for her life.

Which book has been the hardest to write?

Wreck. It has two voices and two time frames: Tamara now, and William, five years ago. I started writing the story as the reader would read it, jumping from one voice to the other, however, the voices started to sound the same. I stopped doing this and instead wrote two separate thriller novels, then cut and pasted them together. It was a tricky thing to get right because the reader has to receive the right information at the right time for the story to flow and maintain suspense, mystery and tension.

How long on average does it take you to write a book?

Risk took 35 days, Black took 4 months (122 days), Wreck took 6 weeks (42 days) = 199 days in total. Therefore, the average time it takes me to write a first draft is 66.333333 days.

Would you ever write a story set in another genre? If so, what genre?

I can’t imagine writing anything but mystery/thrillers, but I can see myself adding science fiction or fantasy elements to my stories of that genre.

Any tips for upcoming writers/authors wanting to get published?

Write regularly and from the heart.

Don’t be afraid to write a bad book.

Exchange work/critiques with other writers.

Read books inside and outside of the genre you like to write.

Join Twitter and follow those posting about writing and publishing (authors, editors, publishers, bloggers, vloggers). Hashtags #LoveOzYA, #amwriting #amediting #askagent are good starting points for finding those tweeting about writing and publishing and may place you in interesting and informative threads.

Attend festivals and/or workshops and/or agent/publisher pitch sessions to help you improve your craft and to make contacts.

Know that there is no set way to getting published. Your way is the right way.

Believe it will happen.

Which authors have inspired you? Or who are some of your favourite authors?

Rebecca James, Veronica Roth, Gabrielle Tozer, Suzanne Collins, Racheal Craw, Anthony Harowitz, Nicole Hayes, Patricia Cornwell, Trinity Doyle, J K Rowling, Ellie Marney, John Larkin, Tristan Bancks, Emily Gale, Dean Koontz, Nova Weetman, Rob Newman, Kim Kane and Carl Hiaasen.

Your novels have a theme of suspense and mystery, so what are your favourite suspenseful/mysterious/thriller novels? Any YA thrillers you love?

Beautiful Malice, Sweet Damage, and Cooper Bartholomew Is Dead by Rebecca James.

Ellie Marney’s Every series

Two Wolves by Tristan Bancks

The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth

Everything is changed by Nova Weetman

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Frankie by Shivaun Plozza

And I know Nicole Hayes doesn’t usually write mystery thrillers, but her latest book A Shadow’s Breath hooks you in with mystery and suspense then unapologetically blows your mind. It’s one of my favourite books of 2017 and I recommend it to everyone.

What book are you currently reading? And what was the last book you read and loved?

I’m currently reading Shield by Rachael Craw (loving it!). The last book I read was Remind Me How This Ends by Gabrielle Tozer (the inside of this book is as gorgeous as the outside!).

Are you writing another book? If so, can you give us any details?

Yes! And I’m mega excited about it. It’s another fast-paced contemporary thriller which will be out mid-2018.

 


Thank you so much to Fleur Ferris for answering my questions so well, and Penguin Random House for sending me a copy of Wreck to review!

Go grab yourselves a copy and support this #LoveOzYA thriller! You will not be disappointed!

Until next time, danielle

5 thoughts on “

  1. I can not wait to get my hands on this book and this interview was so amazing! I didn’t even realise that this was duel narrated. I love that Fleur wrote two diff stories and intertwined them to get the voices right 🙂

    Awesome review and interview Dani ❤

    Like

  2. Awesome review and such a great interview, Fleur is so lovely and her answers were so engaging and helpful!! 😀 I especially loved her answer: “Write regularly and from the heart.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

