book freak out

Hey, friends! I haven’t done a book tag in a little while so I thought today it would be fun to do this one! I know I just did a mid-year update post (which you can see here if you haven’t read it) but this one is different, okay? Anyway, I wasn’t tagged to do this but one of my lovely friends Chami (ReadLikeWildFire) co-created this tag and I love her so I figured LET’S DO THIS!

 

Best book you’ve read so far in 2017.

This one was tricky because I’ve read a lot of amazing books this year, but I had to go with The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. This is just such an important and relevant book and I think everyone needs to read it. I have a full review here if you want to know my thoughts.

 

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017.

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E Schwab. Yes, I read A Conjuring of Light as well, but I don’t know, I just really loved the direction and the story line in AGoS a little more. The character development was wonderful, and that ending. THAT ENDING. It was such a great book (and I have a review of the full trilogy on my blog, which you can read here)

 

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

There are a lot that I haven’t read yet, but one that I’ve been meaning to get to is Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han. I haven’t even bought this book yet, but I really want to get my hands on it soon. I’m a little scared about how it’s all going to end and who Lara Jean is going to end up with, but I still want to read it anyway!

 

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

Um, do I even need to say? GODSGRAVE BY JAY KRISTOFF!!!!! Nevernight was one of my favourite reads last year, and I’ve been dying to get my hands on a copy of its sequel (especially when I keep seeing people reading it and loving it alreadyΒ *sobs*). Can someone just give me this book now? I don’t want to wait until September!

 

Biggest disappointment.

I’ve actually had a pretty good reading year in 2017 (so far, please don’t jinx me) and luckily haven’t read any horrible books. But if I have to choose, then I’m going to pick Yellow by Megan Jacobson. I just didn’t connect with the character and it just really fell flat for me, especially when one of my friends raves about it on the daily (soz not soz).

 

Biggest surprise.

Far From You by Tess Sharpe. I knew I’d enjoy this book but I wasn’t expecting to love it. It’s a murder mystery YA novel with a bisexual protagonist and also deals with drug addiction. It was so entertaining and gripping and I now want to read so many mystery YA novels.

 

Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

A lot of the books I read this year are from authors I’d never read before, but a new fave is definitely V.E Schwab. Her writing is beautiful and I love following her on Twitter and listening to her rants and writing advice; I cannot wait to read more by her.

 

Newest fictional crush.

Speaking of Schwab, can I just pick all of the characters in the Shades of Magic series? No? Too bad. I love them all and I want spin-off series and prequel series ASAP.

 

Newest favourite character.

Well, I guess I answered this in the above question, but to choose a different character, I’ll pick Dimple from When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon. I really loved how passionate and driven she was, and how she didn’t let anyone tell her what to do or let anyone get in her way. She was relatable and supported feminism and I just loved everything about her. (And you can hear more of my thoughts in my review)

 

Book that made you cry.

I’m not much of a crier when it comes to reading. I’m definitely more of a visual crier (if that makes sense), so I haven’t read any books this year that I’ve actually shed a tear over. However, a book that definitely hit me hard in the feels was Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare. If you’ve read it, then you know what I’m talking about. So. Many. Feels. (Check out my review here if you want to know more of my thoughts)

 

Book that made you happy.

Definitely A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard. This book was so adorable! Not only that, but it felt authentic and I loved that. If you’re unaware, this book focuses on a relationship between a selective mute girl (who also suffers social anxiety) and a deaf boy. It’s just such a cute story.

 

Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

So many! But if I have to choose one, it’d have to be Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor. This book is absolutely stunning! I’m yet to actually read it, but I’ve heard it’s amazing and I cannot wait to jump into this magical book.

 

What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

*whispers* All of them….. But seriously, there are a lot that I want to try and read before the year ends. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor are probably the highest on my TBR list at the moment, so as long as I read those before 2017 ends, then I’ll be happy.

 


So that’s my mid-year freak out! Let me know what your favourite read is so far in 2017, or let me know if you share the same answers as me!

 

Until next time,Β danielle

6 thoughts on “

  1. Woohoo awesome post!! Lots of love for Schwab, you’re hyping me up for ADSOM so much!! πŸ˜‹ (I love it don’t stop.)
    The best book I’ve read this year was probably (so far) Assassin’s Fate by Robin Hobb. You can’t really beat a 10 year series build up to such a beautiful, emotional conclusion. How could I not pick it, really. πŸ˜‚

    Like

    1. Always loving Schwab hehe gotta read TSS soon and (hopefully) love it as well! AND GOOD IT DESERVES ALL THE HYPE PLS READ IT ASAP OKAY

      How am I not surprised, oh wait, I ain’t (hehe it rhymed go me)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

