tcp

22892448

 

Title: The Color Project

Author: Sierra Abrams

Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance

Publisher: Self-Published

Pages: 464

Release Date: 18th of July, 2017

Synopsis:
Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

 

My Review:

(Thanks to the author for providing me with an eARC in exchange for my honest review. This in no way affects my thoughts or feelings towards the novel. Also special thanks to Mollie for hosting this Blog Tour!)

I was beyond excited to read this book for many reasons. Firstly, the cover. HOW GORGEOUS IS IT????? I so badly want a physical copy in my hands so I can stroke it and stare at it on my shelves forever (is that weird? Probably). Secondly, I have talked to and admired the author on Twitter for a while now, and she is such a sweetheart. As soon as my lovely friend Mollie asked if I wanted to be a part of this blog tour I had to say yes! And thirdly, I had heard so many amazing things from early readers already and it just made me even more excited to pick it up!

I can say that it did not disappoint. This book was so damn cute. But in saying that, it was also quite hard-hitting and a little heartbreaking as well, which for some reason I was not expecting. No, I was not expecting it to break my heart or hurt me the way it did, but it’s okay, I forgive you, Book.

I found the story quite realistic. As well as being a cute romance, it also dealt with much more serious issues such as grief, cancer, relationship struggles, and even just trying to figure out your future. It all worked really nicely together and I really loved how authentic it made the story.

The characters, man, the characters. LEVI IS A PRECIOUS, SOFT, SWEETHEART AND I WANT TO HUG HIM AND SMOOSH HIS CHEEKS. Yes, Levi really is that beautiful. He’s one of those precious boys that do everything to make people happy and put everyone else’s needs before his own and I just fell in love with him. I also absolutely loved the strong family relationship in this novel. It is so refreshing to see a family getting along and siblings that actually like each other, especially because it’s so rare in YA books.

The only thing that bugged me a little was the main character, Bee. I just wanted her to tell him her name. Like, it’s just a name and Levi is a sweet cinnamon roll and will love you even if your name is Brocolli!!!!!!! This was literally the only thing that annoyed me, and it wasn’t too big a deal because the plot and characters kept my attention and pulled me further into the story.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. The writing was easy to read and flowed really nicely, and the story was just wonderful. Beware, though, that this book will most likely make you crave doughnuts. I am still craving doughnuts and I finished the book three days ago. I NEED DOUGHNUTS!

 

My Rating:

4stars


 

What are some of your favourite, fluffy but hard-hitting contemporaries?
Until next time, danielle

4 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

