loveozya feels

Hey, friends! Today I want to share some OzYA love. There are some pretty amazing Australian authors out there, and I absolutely love how supportive and welcoming the Australian YA community is! This post is inspired by the #LoveOzYABloggers meme, where they do different themes every week to promote and celebrate #LoveOzYA. If you want to join, all the information you need can be found here.

So, this week’s theme is feels. You can bet I’ve felt a lot of feels whilst reading some wonderful Australian YA books, and I want to share a few with you!

 

51vpagsvayl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

 

The first book/books I want to talk about are Illuminae and Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I guarantee you’ve heard about this author duo before, and most definitely would have heard about this series. Told in epistolary format, with IMs, security footage and other extremely cool designs and formatting, this story is unlike any other. A sci-fi adventure packed with action, fun, and feels. Oh god, so many damn feels. These two authors just love to hurt their readers. I mean it, ask them yourself if you don’t believe me. But seriously, this series is amazing and the amount of feels and emotions you will be overcome with is out of this world (ha, see what I did there?!)

I also have reviews of both books. Read my thoughts on Illuminae here, and Gemina here.

26211610

 

Next on my list has to be Summer Skin by Kirsty Eagar. Technically a New Adult, but I’ve seen it included in #loveozya before so I’ll include it anyway (yolo). This is a super fun, steamy romance set in Queensland and I loved it. There weren’t a lot of sad feels or ‘oh my god I’m dying this book is killing me’ feels, but the romance makes you swoon and laugh and yes, gives you feels. I definitely recommend this one if you’re feeling like a steamy romance that’s relatable and fun and all around wonderful.

Again, I have a review up on my blog for this one, so if you want to know my full thoughts, click here.

the-sidekicks

 

And the last book I want to talk about is The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis. This book is perfect for lovers of Adam Silvera, especially History Is All You Left Me. If you’re unaware, this book follows three teenage boys who have just lost the one friend that connected them all. It’s about dealing with grief and loss, school, and friendship, and I think it’s done really well. It was a super easy and quick read for me, and I really enjoyed it. I loved each boy’s perspective and how it showed that everyone deals with grief and loss in different ways. This one is emotional, hard-hitting and full of feels, but such a wonderful read.

 

 

 

#LoveOzYABloggers is hosted by #LoveOzYA, a community led organisation dedicated to promoting Australian young adult literature. Keep up to date with all new Aussie YA releases with their monthly newsletter, or find out what’s happening with News and Events, or submit your own!

 


I definitely need to read more OzYA (mainly because most of what I’ve read have been pretty amazing) so let me know what #loveozya books gave you all the feels!

Until next time, danielle

7 thoughts on “

  1. I really need to read Summer Skin! *hides*
    Awesome post. πŸ˜€ And I feel like The Sidekicks isn’t talked about enough, I absolutely loved it and I think you’re right by aligning it with Adam Silvera. So good. ❀

    Like

  2. I should really get a copy of ‘The Sidekicks’ soon!!
    The first #loveozya book that comes to mind that gave me the feels would be ‘Queens Of Geek’ !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

