song of the current

31450960

 

Title: Song of the Current

Author: Sarah Tolcser

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Publisher: Bloomsbury Australia

Pages: 373

Synopsis:
Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. For generations, her family has been called by the river god, who has guided their wherries on countless voyages throughout the Riverlands. At seventeen, Caro has spent years listening to the water, ready to meet her fate. But the river god hasn’t spoken her name yet—and if he hasn’t by now, there’s a chance he never will.

Caro decides to take her future into her own hands when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious crate. By agreeing to deliver it in exchange for his release, Caro finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies, with dangerous pirates after the cargo—an arrogant courier with a secret—and without the river god to help her. With so much at stake, Caro must choose between the life she always wanted and the one she never could have imagined for herself.

My Review:

I won this book in a giveaway, and I admit, I mainly entered the giveaway because of the cover. I mean, it’s stunning! But when I actually looked into it, the synopsis really fascinated me as well. So I was definitely looking forward to diving into this novel, though I hadn’t heard many people talking about it or seen much hype at all. I found the story very unique and extremely interesting. I really enjoyed the world and the magic system, the pirates and the adventure. It had such potential to be an amazing fantasy debut, but unfortunately, it fell flat for me.

I think my main issue with this book was that I just didn’t connect to the characters or the world, and I think this was due to the writing. I felt like the author just brushed the surface of the characters and the world without letting the reader into the actual story. I don’t know if that even made sense, but I just found that it lacked the depth and details needed for to really get to know the characters and to me, it also really lacked the world-building needed for a new fantasy world. More often than not I found myself rather confused and unsure of what was happening or why it was happening, and again, I think this was mostly due to the absence of explanation of the world.

As well as this, I found the romance aspect rather forced and kind of unnecessary. With the ‘hate to love’ trope, you have to have some kind of middle. You can’t just jump from hate to love without some questioning and confusion and realisation. This book didn’t really have that. It felt like one minute, they hated each other and then the next they were making out and saying ‘I love you’. It just didn’t flow nicely and definitely felt like it was forced to make the plot work.

Overall, I found this novel to be rather disappointing. It had such potential to be a really great, exciting fantasy debut, but for me, it really missed the mark.

 

My Rating:
Actual rating: 2.5/5 stars

2stars

 


Have you read this book? What were your thoughts?

Until next time, danielle

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

