books i’ve changed my mind on

books i don't like anymore.jpg

Our tastes, as readers, are forever changing and we are growing and learning with every single book we pick up. We may pick up a book we never thought we would’ve picked up and end up loving it. We also might read a book we once would have enjoyed but now dislike it. Like I said, our tastes in books and the way we read is always changing, and so we can expect to look back on some of the books we once loved, or enjoyed, and change our minds about it. With every new favourite, I add to my list, an older favourite might get pushed aside, or even away completely. So, this post is going to be all about that. Just a few books I used to love, or once enjoyed, that I don’t think all that highly of anymore.

Of course, these are just my own opinions and I do not mean to offend anyone if their favourite is mentioned.

(Also quick little shout out to Mollie and Sam who gave me this idea!)

Let us begin.

 

Divergent – Veronica Roth

81dbogrgryl

I know I am not alone here when I say that this series is pretty meh now. It was one of, if not the first dystopian series I read and I was so hooked and loved it because it felt so different to so many books out there, especially that ending. However, as time went on and I read more and more books, and the books were getting better and better, this book just didn’t really have that wow factor anymore. And the flop of the movies definitely did not help.

 

ACOTAR & ACOMAF – Sarah J Maas

77493_original

Unpopular opinion time! *cracks knuckles* I did enjoy these two books when I read them last year, ACOMAF more so than ACOTAR. But I didn’t absolutely love it like everyone else. It wasn’t anything amazing, and now, I don’t really care about the series at all. I didn’t fall head over heels in love with Rhysand and didn’t really care what was going to happen or how it would all end in the last book. I still haven’t read ACOWAR, and honestly, I don’t think I ever will. I’ve just completely lost interest in Sarah J Maas books altogether.

 

Delirium – Lauren Oliver

bookcover_home_delirium

This one I actually really enjoyed… Until I read the last book. What a goddamn disappointment. It literally ruined the whole series for me. And so basically, the more time that passes and the more I think about it, the madder it makes me. Just thinking about it now is making me mad, ugh.

 

The Raven Cycle – Maggie Stiefvater

ravencycle__span

Okay, this is another of those ‘the more time that passes, the less I like it’ series. I’m sure you’ve all heard me say I don’t like this series, but I will admit, I did enjoy the first and third, but the last book ruined it all. I found the whole series pretty underwhelming and severely overhyped. The writing wasn’t the best, and I found it really vague and pretty boring quite often throughout the books. And then the last book, damn, how disappointing. The only damn reason I kept reading the books was to find out what would happen in the end, what it was all leading up to. But it was so anticlimactic and just ugh. And again, the more I think about it the more I dislike it, sorry not sorry.

 

The Bronze Horseman – Paullina Simons

51ku3i-qvkl-_sx325_bo1204203200_

I was going to put this in jokingly at first because you all know I hate this book, but then I was like, no, you know what, the more time that passes, the more I loathe this god awful novel and the angrier I get. It’s such absolute trash, with an unhealthy relationship and shitty ass characters and 800 pages of nothing but anger. Just, no. Every time I see this on my Twitter or Instagram I get sad that someone actually liked it and didn’t notice how much of a shitty relationship it was. Like honestly I could rave on about this forever and ever just ugh.

 

I also wanted to add an author, rather than a book. And that author is John Green. I’ve read all of his books, and TFIOS was one of my all-time favourites. But, again, as time goes on and the more I think about his books, I kind of felt his books weren’t really anything special. Of course, if you enjoy his books I’m not trashing you, I just personally don’t feel they’re as amazing as everyone once thought they were. And this is most likely because my reading tastes have changed and grown since I first read all his books years ago.

 


And there you have it, some books I’ve changed my mind about! Yes, most were books I no longer like, but I don’t think I’ve ever read a book I didn’t enjoy but slowly started to enjoy over time.

Let me know what books you’ve grown out of/changed your mind on!

Until next time, danielle

7 thoughts on “books i’ve changed my mind on

  1. I agree with you on Divergent! I loved the first book but the others were actually quite disappointing…I’m currently reading The Bronze Horseman now and even though I’m only 20% in, I can’t decide if I like it or not 🙂

    Like

  2. I can totally understand the SJM problem you have. I LOVED ACOMAF, it was my favorite book of last year and I was so excited for ACOWAR. But like you I haven’t read it yet.
    And when it comes to her other series, Throne of Glass, I’m just so sad and bitter on how this story changed. Personally I can’t enjoy Throne of Glass anymore and that’s why I’ll probably never finish the series.

    Like

  3. HA I was about to say wait we already know you hate Bronze Horseman but I feel you on the deeper hatred xD I feel the same way about acotar and Divergent, I adored Divergent and reread it so many times before the last book. I tried rereading it again when the series was done and just couldn’t do it 0.0 Awesome post Dani ❤

    Like

Leave a comment